We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for what you get”
Review of Hotel Molokai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Molokai
Ranked #1 of 4 Kaunakakai B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 22, 2013

During my recent stay there was no hot water, but to the hotel's credit they did change my room rather quickly. But if you came to Molokai fo peace and relaxation, especially at night-think again. My room was not only close to the bar, but to the main road on Molokai. So I was kept awake until 11:00 PM with the bar noise. At about 2:00 AM I was awoken to the noise of vehicles going down the main road every 5-10 minutes. So in all intensive purposes I had about 3 hours of sleep that night. The room as previously noted by other guests has paper thin walls so you hear everything outside. So if you like paying alot of money for a noisy, bust up room, go ahead and stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dacruster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your feedback is very valuable to us. We will utlize your review by continuing to focus on making all of our guest experience the best it can be.
We hope to be of service to you in the near future.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 547 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Let me start by saying that if you are high maintenance and are used to staying in Ritz Carlton's or Four Seasons- Molokai is not the place for you. But if you like rustic, charming, friendly, and comfortable, then Hotel Molokai is perfect. Plus its the only hotel on Molokai.

My husband and I enjoyed our recent stay of 5 nights. The staff was great and the accommodations comfortable. We had a king bed in an oceanfront room, so we had a great breeze (no A/C in the room- we never felt we needed it), a ceiling fan, and the sound of the waves all night. The hotel provides ear plugs due to local roosters, but they never woke us up. The bathroom is small, but clean, and they provide Bath & Body Works products that smelled great. Coffee (no decaf) and ice water are available in the lobby all day, and every morning in the lobby there is fruit & packaged muffins/cakes provided to guests. Free wi-fi is available, and there is a computer in the lobby with a printer if you need it. The property is not new or modern, but nothing on Molokai is, and that's the way it should be.

They have a small pool and a bar that serves a small grill menu right now (burger, veggie burger, chicken sandwich, etc), as the restaurant is being rebuilt. We left on a Thursday, so we missed the live entertainment on Saturday, but we heard it was great.

Michael (manager) had a meet & greet (free) cocktail hour on Monday and he was a very gracious host. We had a great time and learned what it was like to really relax.

Room Tip: There are only 4 oceanfront rooms so book early if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynn3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Aloha Lynn,

Thank you so much for posting a review. We are truly happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our only goal is to make sure all of our guests have the same experience like you. We hope to see you in the future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I cant say enough nice things about my visit here to the Hotel Molokai, and while there are always a few glitches to discuss at rustic, laid-back, hotels, I believe this location warrants a grade of "excellent" based on the service and the overall spirit of Aloha that permeates the property.

It started at the front desk where check-in was quick and easy as it gets....very low key, and very helpful. Pua was a gem taking care of the reservation, and also assisted in setting up a couple excursions that were wonderful as well.

The room was oceanfront, second floor.....fairly basic and a bit rustic, but a view to die for, and no a/c. Now, while some might scoff at a room without a/c in the tropics. I can assure you it was always comfortable, at least during the week I was there in February. I cant speak about summer months, but for this time of year? No problem at all.....

The pool was basically empty most days....it truly felt like the resort was all mine to do as I pleased with.....great bar by the pool but hours are only from about 4-10 pm each day or so (I guess it depends on how busy the resort it)....

Do not expect a huge, wide, powdery-white sand beach here.....the resort fronts a lagoon that is a part if a huge barrier reef, and the flats there are very shallow....if anyone is into fly fishing or bone fishing, I think this resort would be PRIME A-1 for a fishing trip.....its basically untouched but I saw schools of bones tailing and chasing bait every day right in front of my room.

I also cant say enough about Michael the manager.....great attitude, and his cocktail party should NOT be missed....

This is a place to go to for relaxation....relaxation, and more relaxation...and the staff and management do a wonderful job making sure thats what you get!.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KonaJoe14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Aloha!!
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you truly enjoyed your visit with us. Molokai is truly a gem and a relaxation paradise. We hope to see you inthe future.

Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very thin walls. Could hear people walking above me in the middle of the night. Needs repairs. Bathroom door all chewed up on bottom, window panes coming out of front door and patches on walls were painted over with the wrong color paint. Internet didn't work and restaurant still not open. Enjoyed the continental breakfast. Nice view from the pool. Room was clean and single beds comfortable. Staff was very friendly. I liked the old ambiance. I loved the island and enjoyed the mule ride.

Room Tip: Room facing inward or towards ocean and get on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We certainly appreciate your feedback and comments. Please know that your feddback is very important and we will utlize your feedback by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.

We hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

If you haven't been to Moloka'i, you probably won't understand that comment. You will after you've been there.

Moloka'i is a beautiful island. The East is lush and green and offers fantastic ocean views of Maui and Lana'i. The West is dry, but has an enormous beach and offers views of O'ahu. The south gives views of Lana'i. The island has much to offer for views, but don't think for a minute that it has a lot of man-made activities.

Hotel Moloka'i is a decent place. My room was clean. It had a nice patio with table and chairs. The bed was comfortable, although small (standard rooms are twin beds, upgraded rooms offer king). The staff was nice and they offered a kind of continental breakfast. There was no air conditioning in our room, but there was a fan. There was also a pool area and the entire back side of the hotel grounds offered great ocean frontage views. The restaurant burned down some time ago, so you will have to eat out or bring food with you.

But this is Moloka'i. Nothing is going to be new and fancy. You won't find a resort. You're not on Moloka'i for that anyway.

In general, the Hotel Moloka'i will offer clean, comfortable quarters. I offer it an average rating. This is when rated against other Hawaiian hotels. There are few places to stay on this island, so for Moloka'i it is actually very good.

Room Tip: Remember, not restaurant at this location. You will have to eat out or bring your own food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1960Corvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We certainly appreciate your comments and feedback. We hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We enjoyed Hotel Molokai for the manager and staff that made us feel so welcome and at home. The beds are very comfortable and the view was beautiful. The manager's cocktail hour was very enjoyable. If you are looking for a place that you can totally relax this is the place. The only thing that could have made it better would have been if the restaurant was open but at least there was bar food Thursday thru Sunday. We found the Paddler's Inn served very good food and drinks plus the staff was very nice.

Room Tip: I enjoyed being on the upper deck in room 208 with a view of the ocean, pool and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pattie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Be well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

When it comes to...everything on Molokai- dining, accomodations, activities, sightseeing- you will find your options will always be slim to none. (Frankly, from what I've heard and seen of the other islands, I would recommend going to any other island before this one. Save your time and headache.) So this hotel doesn't have to make any effort at all if they don't want to.

But I actually had a good experience. The buildings were these cute polynesian huts you see in people's photos. 60's on the outside but relatively recently reno'ed on the inside with nice clean white bed linens. Every room has a lanai, I think. The pool and surrounding bar and sitting area were fine. The hammocks were a nice tough. Grab out at sunset and you'll see the other guests come out to take photos of the sunset over the water. The hotel is on the beach and its nice to look out over the water but this isn't a beach you want to swim at or sit on the sand; do that elsewhere on the island. (You'll need a local's recommendation for that, though. Good luck!)

The staff were very nice and helpful and I enjoyed the continental breakfast with local fruit and that strong Hawaiian coffee.

As the photos show and another reviewer noted, there are those sections of your room's exterior wall that will have that lattice work and screens so your room can actually be closed to the outside world completely. This bothered one of our traveling companions and for good reason. There area ton of chickens and roosters on or near the property, which is cute and all, but they are crowing, loudly, from well before sunrise and are INCESSANT. I happened to have brought earplugs and I you're gonna want to do the same. Other than that, no complaints.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lola1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for posting a review. Your feedback is very important to us. We will utilize your comments to continue improve on our service. We hope to see you in the future.

Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaunakakai
22.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,215 reviews
22.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
505 reviews
21.8 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Castle Molokai Shores Resort
24.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
429 reviews
10.2 mi away
MVP - Wavecrest
MVP - Wavecrest
#1 of 3 in Kaunakakai
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molokai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molokai

Address: 1300 Kamehameha V Hwy, Kaunakakai, Molokai, HI 96748-4021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Molokai > Kaunakakai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kaunakakai
Price Range: $172 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Molokai 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an authentic Hawaiian experience at our resort located on Kamiloloa Beach adjacent to Hawaii's only barrier reef. Our Ocean Front resort offers the ideal setting for your authentic Hawaiian experience. Take in a sunset at our Oceanside restaurant opened for dining experiences during lunch and dinner. Learn about the island while touring a schedule tour with our Activities Desk. Pick-up last minute souvenirs at our gift shop open daily 9 am to 5 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Molokai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Molokai Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing