We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gal Getaway”
Review of Hotel Molokai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Molokai
Ranked #1 of 4 Kaunakakai B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Our group of 4 gals planned a getaway to Molokai. We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Molokai. The staff was courteous and helpful. We had a very comfortable and clean room. Our room had a king bed and 2 twins, a kitchenette, and a large lanai. We followed the meandering coastline at dusk and watched whales off in the distance at the outdoor hotel bar. The room was not air conditioned but the ceiling fan and screen/lattice A frame windows kept the room cool. Earplugs were sitting on our pillows in case we didn't like the outdoor noise (rooster and the occasional car).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAnn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Aloha JoAnn,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you and your friends had a great visit to our Friendly Isle. We hope to see you all in the very near futre. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 547 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

From the moment my husband and I arrived at Hotel Molokai we were kindly greeted!! They staff are all so friendly and helpful; they quickly arranged our Halawa Valley tour, sea kayaking tour and even informed us about snorkeling at the 20 mile marker. If you are looking for a friendly, laid back place to visit this is definitely the place. The manager Michael and his staff are wonderful; especially Pua!!!!! :) We plan on visiting again but until then... Mahalo Michael and staff, for making us feel welcomed!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria215torres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Aloha Marie,

Thank you so mucha for taking the time out to post a review. We are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you on your next visit to Molokai. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Molokai in sept 2012 for 4 nights. As far as we could tell it is the only full service hotel in Molokai so there was a risk of complacency but this was absolutely not the case. This Hotel is a genuine gem and the whole holiday was just the most amazing experience.

First the hotel itself: It is a lovely layout pacific style, with different groups of rooms labelled as the Islands in the Hawaiiain chain. On arrival the lobby is nicely laid out and the front desk staff were very professional and welcoming. There is always ice cold water, and also coffee in the mornings.

We asked if we had an ocean view and were told a partial one which was consistent with what we had booked so we were OK with that, We asked about an upgrade but were told it was $100 per night so declined. We were allocated a room which was lovely and had a great balcony with a bit of an ocean view, as well as a kitchen area. It also had an amazing mezzanine floor with a second double bed, a little bit defunct with the two of us but a nice touch. Unfortunately the room did not have a closet where one could hang clothes, which was a bit weird, but hey this is paradise ! When we queried with reception they said that "In Molokai we just hang our clothes on chairs...." :-)

After settling in we decided to go check out the pool and bar and take up the offer to "meet the manager" MIke at 4.30. The pool and bar is just lovely, right on the beach and perfect for sunset and sure enough there was MIke, a lovely man, originally from the Caribbean, who bought us a drink. He asked us how our room was and when we somewhat belatedly said about the lack of a closet to hang clothes he said we had the only room out of 57 that didnt have one and then asked us what was more important: the kitchen, the closet or a view?. We responded that a view and a closet were more important in that order and he disappeared then came back with two sets of keys and suggested we check out the options...

Well suffice to say the first room was about six feet from the ocean, with a stunning balcony view, but fair enough only had a fridge and a microwave, as well as a small closet, so we took it !! After checking no extra cost (sorry the cynical european...). Never even looked at the second option .... Well the whole experience was wonderful, the hotel restuarant was being refurbished after a fire which at first was very disappointing but actually gave us a chance every night to get a takeaway from a different one of the 4 or 5 or so excellent places in the (very small) town and then eat on our amazing balcony with a bottle of wine from the superb wine store, which also sold deli items including, to our amazement (especially my Scottish wife) , scottish smoked salmon which went down well with one of their excellent sparkiling wines... :-). Food wise I would say the Fillipino pork take away was my favourite but the standard was very high overall for such a small place. I might add the two little supermarkets were also of quite high standard. Having toured the rest of the Island I think I would eccomend staying near the main town as there is virtually nothing elsewhere, althought beaches on west are amazing.

Oh and I should mention the Hotel laid on complimentary continental breakfast, including fruit, and coffee which was a nice touch given the lack of restaurant. The restaurant is supposed to be back in action by the end of 2012 I think.

The Island itself is gorgeous and paradise for a laid back holiday. If you want a wild time stay away ! The absolute highlight was the mule tour down to Kalaupapa, the most incredible experience, if a little sore. Lots of other people have described it so won't repeat, also the beautiful beaches. But whatever you do the hotel is just paradise and so relaxing.

The only slight issue we had was that after a couple of days we weren't happy with the room cleaning. But after a quick word with Mike the manager the head cleaner came and did a spotlesss job, absolutely great, confirming our faith in this as a truly class act. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Walter_Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you so much for taking time to post a review. Your feedback is very important to us. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your visit on Molokai and we are looking forard to see you in the near future. Until then, be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Getting to Molokai sucked, flying in a little prop plane from Oahu...I get motion sickness.
But once we pulled up to this gem, I was in heaven. Such curb appeal, exactly what I wanted. Cute little A-frame building, with rustic charm. I could spend all year here! I made the most of my stay, went swimming, lounged in the hammocks, and just basked in the sun. This is my idea of island paradise. Yes, there really isn't a beach like you would love there to be, but I didn't care. I would go here over and over again. It beats boring Lahaina!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babe r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the property and your visit. We look forward to your next visit in the near future. Until then, be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Michael and his staff did an incredible job for me on my vacation from the check in til i left. They set us up on numerous tours and were always there for anything we needed at the hotel. His entire staff is courteous and friendly. The location of the rooms were perfect overlooking the ocean and with a view of the neighboring island. The bar area of the hotel is a perfect place to wind down and talk about your day, enjoying a nice beverage. All the people of the island are very friendly and wave at everyone they come in contact with. Coming from California, that was a real treat. Michael had an itenerary set up for us when we arrived, so it was a fun filled week.. I definitely will be back in the near future. thank you Michael and the rest of the staff and keep up the great work.

Room Tip: You definitely want to ask for an ocean view room, but either way you are never too far from a pictu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TuscanyManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Aloha Pete,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We are looking forward to your next visit. Until then be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel was nice and the rooms were being renovated while we were there so should be very nice now. The rooms were interestingly designed but comfy. Hotel staff was very helpful. Only downside was the beach which was OK for a stroll and made for a beautiful view from the pool and the bar but NOT a swimming beach. Good launching spot for paddle boards though.

Room Tip: Pay for the Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your accommodations. We hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here while on tour. It was a joy after leaving the huge hotels, traffic, crowds, and t-shirt shops of Maui. So peaceful and easy going. The grounds are beautiful; right on the ocean with flowers blooming everywhere - a tropical paradise. Our room had no air, but a large fan was all we needed. A large screen door opened to a lovely private lanai looking out over the grounds to the sea where we ate our continental breakfast each morning. The room is basic, but very comfortable with TV and frig. Warning: Each morning you will be awakened by a cacophony of crowing roosters. They are everywhere. We loved it. (Ear plugs are provided for those not so amused by this "alarm" system.) Dining room is closed due to a fire but the bar is open. One evening while we were there local musicians came to play. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PasCaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the quiet relax atmosphere of Hotel Molokai. We hope to see you in the near future when you visit of beautiful island of Molokai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaunakakai
22.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,212 reviews
22.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
503 reviews
21.8 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Castle Molokai Shores Resort
24.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
425 reviews
10.2 mi away
MVP - Wavecrest
MVP - Wavecrest
#1 of 3 in Kaunakakai
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molokai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molokai

Address: 1300 Kamehameha V Hwy, Kaunakakai, Molokai, HI 96748-4021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Molokai > Kaunakakai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kaunakakai
Price Range: $172 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Molokai 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an authentic Hawaiian experience at our resort located on Kamiloloa Beach adjacent to Hawaii's only barrier reef. Our Ocean Front resort offers the ideal setting for your authentic Hawaiian experience. Take in a sunset at our Oceanside restaurant opened for dining experiences during lunch and dinner. Learn about the island while touring a schedule tour with our Activities Desk. Pick-up last minute souvenirs at our gift shop open daily 9 am to 5 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Molokai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Molokai Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing