We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Cheesesteaks and pizza are FANTASTIC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giannotto's Pizzaria

Giannotto's Pizzaria
Ranked #14 of 93 Restaurants in Wailuku
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
S.E. PA
Level Contributor
274 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Cheesesteaks and pizza are FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Philly's the home of the cheesesteak, right? Giannotto's knocked it out of the park with one of the best cheesesteaks I've ever had. No foolin. How could a place in Maui do that? David, the owner, has Amoroso rolls frozen and shipped to his restaurant. And those who know cheesesteaks know that the roll make the cheesesteak.

The owner, David, is a really nice guy who takes time to engage each customer. We really enjoyed speaking to him about the business and his family.

I know if I lived on Maui this would be my go-to lunch spot. If you find yourself heading over this area I encourage you to stop in for lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LuvDaSun222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    38
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mililani, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Legit Jersey Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My hubby and I were on a little weekend getaway from Oahu and had the pleasure of meeting the owner, Dave Giannotto at our very first visit to this fine Italian restaurant on Sunday night, 6/15/2014. We ate here for dinner. From the minute we entered his restaurant, he greeted us very warmly and made us feel like family. There were so many different things that we had wanted to try but we ended up ordering a deluxe whole 16 inch pizza to share between the two of us, needless to say, we polished up the WHOLE pizza!

The crust is tasty and perfectly chewy with a crisp and light surface firm enough at the bottom to support the weight of the generous amounts of toppings added to the pie. For our deluxe pizza, we had a generous amount of cheese, pepperoni, sausage, olives, green pepper, tomato, and onions. The tomato sauce is very flavorful and perfectly seasoned with the right amount of herbs and spices which complemented the toppings and crust very well. When the pizza arrived at our table, it was piping hot and cooked to perfection!

Dave is a genuinely nice guy who takes the time to explain his menu items and makes suggestions as to what you may want to try, especially if it's your first time, as it was ours. He also took the time to come to our table and chat with us not only about how we felt about his food, but he also takes the time to get to know you on a personal level as well. There is a true sincerity here and you really do feel welcomed and like a part of his family while you're here. You will definitely taste his families legacy and love for food with every bite you take. It's hard to find places where you can taste a families rich history and love for food these days, so eating here was a true treat! Our only regret that night was that we did not leave enough room for dessert! After polishing off a 16 inch pie between the two of us, we just could not do it! The pizza was just too good to stop! All of the desserts are homemade, which include tiramisu, cheescake, cannoli, and zeppoli's. We will be sure to save enough room for dessert next time!

Giannotto's Pizzaria is totally legit and has bomb pizza's! This pizza was by far, one of the best pizzas that we've had ever! We travel a bit and have eaten some bomb pizza's in our lifetime and we can confidently say that eating Dave's pizza is a pleasantly memorable experience and is right up there with our favorite pizza's to eat! The next time we visit from Oahu, we will be sure to make a stop here again! The next time you're on Maui, make sure to stop here for meal, you definitely won't regret it! We're definitely going to be refering our friends and family to Giannotto's!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NandL6983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
171 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great pizza..fast delivery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We live in Wailuku and the food came in 25 minutes which was quick for delivery. I love their white pizza with different cheeses and garlic. The dough is nice and chewy and crispy too. The cheesesteak sandwich is wonderful. Their chocolate cheesecake and tiramisu is divine!! Totally New York taste!

Helpful?
Thank kdooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We came here because of the Trip Advisor ratings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

The pizza was very good, with nice thin crust, the salads were amazing. We admit we thought this was a sit down service restaurant, but it is not, but it was still a very good meal.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hekelingen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pizza!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

They have the best pizza on Maui!! I ate there a few times and the food is great.
They have a divers menu and the pizza's are made in a open kitchen. Funny to see

Helpful?
Thank nemo666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giannotto's Pizzaria also viewed

 

Been to Giannotto's Pizzaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing