We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, friendly and well-run B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
Ranked #1 of 4 Wailuku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice, friendly and well-run B&B”
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Well-run B&B in a beautiful old house, spacious rooms with modern bathrooms, good breakfast and nice patio and common areas. The place feels professional and organised like a well-run small hotel, with the charm and friendliness of a B&B. Probably the best place to stay on the windward side north of Hana and a great starting point for all excursions there, including Haleakala, Road to Hana, Iao Needle and Paia/Hookipa.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SandSNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    63
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
42
269
23
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Comfortable and clean rooms. Very nice house with a large well kept garden. Hot cooked and filling breakfast. Friendly hosts with a lot of knowledge about the local area. This was the fourth B&B I've ever stayed at and I'd have to say it is the best. Central area full of books, free towels and mats for the beach. Easy walk to central Wailuku.
The back house does have a bit of room to room noise.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bamboo_Screen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2009

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights and found everything about this Inn perfect. I just wish we had been able to stay for a week or more. The central location allows day trips to all the island tourist destinations without the hassle of staying in a touristy hotel. Janice and Tom provide great hospitality and the personal touch you don't get at most hotels or even B&B's. The breakfasts were real tasty and the grounds and rooms made it seem like this was our own plantation house! We explored Wailuku for lunch and dinner when we weren't traveling around the island. We'll surely be back and this time for an extended stay.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TerryWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2009

We stayed at the Inn for 4 nights (feb 23-27) and couldn't find one thing we would have changed. The Inn itself is charming and conveniently located to the airport. Great after a long flight to the island. The bed was very comfortable and the room overall was inviting and charming. We stayed in the Mokihana room which is located above the kitchen but since we needed to be up for breakfast anyway it was never a problem. The food Janice prepares is great. Different than just the standard fare. She really puts forth the extra effort to provide things that are unique and delicious. Breakfast is at 8 each morning but Janice does offer the option of a continental breakfast if you need to eat earlier. On the morning we were going on a horse ride into the crater we requested a continental breakfast for that morning. We were expecting rolls and coffee but when we got up or continental breakfast consisted of fruit, eggs, a fresh baked scone juice and coffee. What a nice surprise and just what we needed to start our long day.

As others have pointed out, Janice has Road to Hana CDs, beach towels and mats, coolers, snacks, and drinks to make your day more enjoyable. There are a lot of small restaurants right downtown, but we drove down to Ma'alaea most nights and ate at the Ma'alaea Grill. Very good choice and only ten minutes away.

That is the final point, the Old Wailuku Inn is very convenient for all of your central and east side explorations, Pi'ia, Hana, Haleakala Crater, Kulu, etc.

A very good choice all around, We can't wait to go back! Thanks Janice!

Becky & Mark Steber
Frederick, Maryland

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Becky_and_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We had a very short stay, but highly recommend this B&B! Most of all we enjoyed having a gormet breakfast and speaking with the other guests! Parking is a little tight and room had a musty smell, but it was such a quaint place I really can't complain and can't say enough about it! A very friendly atmosphere. Great value - they don't nickle and dime you with extra charges, and offer free internet and refreshments.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa_O_Travel_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwest va
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2009

We had a lovely stay here. The room was super clean and the bed was comfortable. The town of Wailuku is not the greatest. While it is centrally located and a great starting point to our day, the town is kind of sketchy. Wailuku is supposedly going through a sort of renaissance, but they have a ways to go. The Inn is in a residential area, but it's easy to get to where ever you want to go on the island. The Iao Valley is only a couple of miles away and looked like it was beautiful. Unfortunately we didn't get to see it because it was closed off due to the storms we had on our last day. Our only complaint was our breakfasts were not to our liking. Everyone else seemed to enjoy it, and it looked lovely on the plate, just not to our tastes. Other than that we had a great stay and a wonderful vacation. The owners were super friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Liked — comfy bed
  • Disliked — wailuku town
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bbaillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2008

I stayed here for two nights in the Mokihana Room. It was great and I would stay here again.

The inn and room were very clean and comfortable, among the best B&Bs I have stayed in. The room was clean and well kept, and the staff and innkeeper were present just enough to make you feel welcome and not smothered -- pretty much left on your own. The neighborhood and grounds are quiet, with a bit of traffic at rush hour only. Some interesting historical sites, downtown Wailuku, and restaurants are within a short drive or moderate walk.

The breakfasts were first class. Fresh fruit and juice, hot entree, and good company with the other guests. A great start to a day exploring Maui.

  • Liked — Homey feel with enough privacy. Beautiful surroundings.
  • Disliked — Parking would be tight if full, but I did not have a problem.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tooluser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
2.3 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,048 reviews
3.6 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
13.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,114 reviews
14.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
34.6 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono

Property: Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
Address: 2199 Kahookele St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-2130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wailuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui's historic Inn. Down to the smallest detail, it represents 1920s Hawaii at its best, intertwined with the conveniences and luxuries the modern travelers expect. Located in the heart of Maui - short drive to beautiful beaches, lush golf courses, great restaurants, shopping centers, and most major visitor attractions. Ten minutes from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Wailuku Inn At Ulupono Hotel Wailuku
Old Wailuku Inn At Ulupono Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing