We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not long Enough in this Beautiful Place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
Ranked #1 of 4 Wailuku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Our first four nights in Maui were at a large resort in Kanapalli. While it was beautiful, we decided for exploring the Road to Hana we would like to stay in a smaller place with a true island feel. The Old Wailuku Inn provided just the experience we were looking for. We stayed in the lovely Miulana Room in the adjacent cottage to the main house. The next day after our late afternoon arrival we were to leave before breakfast for our tour on the Road to Hana. Our host said we could come to the dining room at 7 for a continental breakfast. Our breakfast turned out to be a fully cooked hot breakfast with scrambled eggs, delicious scone and fresh papaya from the yard.
We appreciated the extra effort Janice put forth to make us feel welcome. We were there for three nights but wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the surroundings at this beautiful inn. (The shower in our room and the rest of our breakfasts was amazing.)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 466 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

The place and innkeepers speak Aloha here. Their concern for the guest's well being is paramount. This historic place was built as a wedding gift for an old Kamaina family. That love and attention to detail is still alive and well. We recently used it for out of town guests for a family wedding. Whatever the need, the innkeepers were attentive and accommodating. Vegan,gluten free or child friendly food was both delicious and plentiful. The rooms are beautifully decorated and cozy. It was a home away from home. The location is convenient, the place and people are filled with Aloha for their guests and you're on Maui. What more could you want?

Room Tip: If you have a child, the 1st floor rooms with a garden are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreamcatcher2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Everything about our stay as fabulous! The Inn keeper is so gracious and the breakfast looks like it comes from the Four Seasons. Beautiful and tasty food, a lovely Bed and Breakfast, outstanding service from all we encountered. We were just left asking ourselves...why did we not find this place earlier. This is not a typical beach tourist place (there is no fitness center or pool. The town is very cool though. We stayed in the Plumaria room. It was comfortable, with a rain shower head and lots of jets.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We arrived late at night, no hiccups, everything was ready for us and as described. We stayed in the Miulana Room in a cottage separate from the main building. it was lovely & we especially enjoyed the privacy & having our own porch with shade curtains for even more privacy. I did my morning yoga routine on the porch. Breakfasts were delicious and we found there were no issues having our meals modified to our needs. Our room was bright, spacious and quiet.
What we especially appreciated was warm, homey atmospher and the hospitality of our hostess & staff.
If we return to maui we will definitely stay at the Old Wailuku Inn again and recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: The rooms in the separate building afford more privacy and I would select a room on the upper floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouLou661947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The title says it all. If you must have a gym and pool, then go somewhere else, but you couldn't find a better place to stay, and why would anyone want a pool or gym in Maui anyway? B&B's almost always beat hotels, and this beats them all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I'm almost hesitant to write this review for fear of having the entire world learn about this gem in the heart of Wailuku ... and making it difficult for me to make reservations in the future! I've experienced many great places throughout my travels, but none approaches the comfort that I immediately felt from check-in to departure. The hosts were great and the breakfast exceeded anything that I expected short of a 5-star residence. They made my wife and I feel at home, and having a glass of wine on the veranda in the evening was almost like being whisked away to a private retreat, far from the noise and craziness of the world. Mahalo Janice, spouse and your friendly housekeeping staff. Aloha and a hui hou ... until we meet again (and there will be another time!) Kelvin Char

Room Tip: It's all good. We stayed in the Bird of Paradise and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KelvinC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We love Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono! This was our third time staying there and the rooms are so clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated with Hawaiian themes, the fab breakfasts are fun getting to meet guests from all over the globe and the owners have so much ALOHA! My husband and I plan to stay there on every trip. Thank you Janice and Tom for the hospitality and going out of your way to make our stay so comfortable.
Mahalo!
Scott and Susan Nakahara

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
8.3 mi away
Paia Inn
Paia Inn
#1 of 1 in Paia
767 reviews
11.6 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
12.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
472 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ho'oilo House
Ho'oilo House
#2 of 11 in Lahaina
362 reviews
12.7 mi away
What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono

Address: 2199 Kahookele St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-2130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wailuku
Price Range: $210 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui's historic Inn. Down to the smallest detail, it represents 1920s Hawaii at its best, intertwined with the conveniences and luxuries the modern travelers expect. Located in the heart of Maui - short drive to beautiful beaches, lush golf courses, great restaurants, shopping centers, and most major visitor attractions. Ten minutes from Kahului Airport. Amenities include: All private Baths, daily maid service, daily changing full two course gourmet breakfast, free wifi, complimentary Parking onsite, no resort fees ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Wailuku Inn At Ulupono Hotel Wailuku
Old Wailuku Inn At Ulupono Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing