We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best showers ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
Ranked #1 of 4 Wailuku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best showers ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

My husband and I had a late flight into Maui and arrived at the Inn in the dark. The directions to the Inn and to our room was right on. The hosts make everything very simple, which is nice when you are tired from a long flight. We were quite delighted to see the beautiful surroundings in the morning and the great breakfast. I always rate a B&B by it's bed-this was one of the best but it didn't compare to the shower. There were 3 selections for shower heads-I could have stayed in there all day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    63
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
40
260
23
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati,Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

The Old Wailuku Inn is a great B&B. Our room, which featured Hawaiian style furnishings, was clean and comfortable, with a private garden area. The owners were friendly and knowledgeable and provided a delicious breakfast of French toast and fresh local fruits. The Inn's central location is another major feature which must be considered if touring throughout Maui. This is a great alternative to the crowded, impersonal resorts.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripdog52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

The Old Wailuku Inn is beautiful, comfortable, and welcoming. We went there with two other couples, and all were delighted. The rooms are clean and comfortable with a seating area in a private courtyard. The owners and staff are friendly. The breakfast was special and plentiful. You will find the highest quality with a warm welcome.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idoyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Amazing breakfasts (fresh fruit, plus extras - always left table well-fueled for the day ahead), charming rooms, welcoming common areas and pleasant hosts. Rooms generally clean, but corners, etc. a little neglected.

Room Tip: lower rooms in main house are smaller, but have private patio garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al67bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

This is a very nice B&B in a historic house, maybe 100 years old. Nicely furnished in a antique-hawaiian style. The location is not close enough to walk to anything interesting, but is conveniently situated if you are driving around Maui, since it's only 10 min from the airport and roughly in the center of the island. This was the third time we've stayed there and have always enjoyed it. The breakfasts are really nice, often with things like waffles and local fruit, and the rooms and beds are comfortable. A nice Maui find that feels a lot more interesting than some anonymous concrete resort hotel room.

Room Tip: There is a main house and a guest house ... main house has a bit more character but is nearer the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Our room was remarkably pleasant, as were the grounds and the service. The shower had several sets of jets, that was uncommonly nice. I mention this because the shower is...that good.

The area in which the inn is situated struck us a unremarkable and we drove out to West Maui a lot. This was easy to do. Coming back to the inn after full days in the sun was wonderful, and we slept well and, again, enjoyed the shower.

The family that owns the inn was quite nice and personable. Some of the hired help was less hospitable, not necessarily "rude" but certainly not friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbsonboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

My wife and I were pleased to find Old Wailuku Inn. It was really comfortable..we
enjoyed the lanai and the breakfasts especially. Our only disappointment was
the restaurants of Wailuku, no fault of the Inn. Kehei and Lahaina are close though with plenty of restaurants. We would definitely recommend the Inn! I dont know how to compare this B&B with others in Hawaii, so will have to compare it with those in France, Italy, and US contental in which we have stayed.

Room Tip: We were in the smaller rooms and they were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homerdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldWailukuInn, Owner at Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear HomerDee

Thanks for your review of the Inn. We look forward to your next visit.

Aloha
Tom, Janice, and Shelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
2.3 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
3.6 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
13.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
34.6 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
14.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono

Property: Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
Address: 2199 Kahookele St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-2130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wailuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui's historic Inn. Down to the smallest detail, it represents 1920s Hawaii at its best, intertwined with the conveniences and luxuries the modern travelers expect. Located in the heart of Maui - short drive to beautiful beaches, lush golf courses, great restaurants, shopping centers, and most major visitor attractions. Ten minutes from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Wailuku Inn At Ulupono Hotel Wailuku
Old Wailuku Inn At Ulupono Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing