We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful and perfect!”
Review of Mendes Ranch

Mendes Ranch
Book In Advance
More Info
$114.49*
and up
Maui Horseback-Riding Tour with Optional BBQ Lunch
Ranked #4 of 48 things to do in Wailuku
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
saipan
2 reviews
“beautiful and perfect!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

the pictures of the trail do not do it justice! The views are spectacular and our guide, Trevor was so knowledgable and kind. We had different levels of riders and we were each accommodated perfectly. Stay for the lunch just to complete your ranch experience! All the horses were happy and healthy...and each of us were matched perfecttly to our horses. After our delicious lunch we were able to practice our ropin' "skills" with the help of the staff. Couldn't have been any better!!!! Thank you so much to the entire staff, cooks, and guides. Yee haw and mahalo

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank trippytippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    35
    13
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Be careful of which tour you book and lower your expectations”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked at Mendes because of the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor. But like anything, it's the small details that can catch you. Several people with glowing reviews mention a two hour tours but no such rides were available. We took the afternoon Aloha Ride clearly advertised as a 1.5 hour tour (and it wasn't a second longer). Take the morning tour to make sure your horses are fresh; some horses appeared tired. The rides were split into two large groups.The first had 13 guests, the second had 9.(plus two guides each). That's a lot of people especially with different types of rides (there was a small child started to cry the second she was on the horse and needed one of the guide's attention the whole time). The ride itself is through small dirt corridors carved out of the rugged mountain and since the trails are shared with the ATV tours, the actual trails are not that great for horses (large, sharp boulders dislodged by the ATV etc). The views over the cliffs over the ocean are spectacular and the ability to have the guides take pictures was awesome. The food was ok, nothing close to some of the rave reviews. It's always a tell-tale sign when the staff at these types of places doesn't eat the same food as the guests.... We will book another horse tour in Maui next time (it's a great activity in paradise) but this time, we'll try someone else that can do smaller groups. Lower your expectations and you likely won't be disappointed on this. I was expecting more because at $100 per person, it's not a cheap activity. A smaller group would have been better and if your kids are too young (and not experienced), pick a different activity. PS We didn't have Butch who seems to be a star at this place with many of the reviewers.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank condo-weeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It just keeps getting better”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My family and I have just completed our 3rd trail ride with Butch at the Mendes ranch. The last time that we rode was three years ago, and Butch remembered us and what horses we rode. They have changed the ride a bit, and this one spends much more time by the water. We were able to watch the humpback whales while sitting on our horses. Butch stopped by the trail and picked passion fruit for us all to taste. He was extremely knowledgable about the history of cowboys on Maui. If you are looking for a break for the beaches, I highly recommend horsebackring at the Mendes Ranch.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mbiansk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“One of the best trips ”
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Had a blast with my family my wife my 7 year daughter. Her first time riding a horse. The Mendes horseback trainers work with my daughter teacher the steps of riding a horse. We all had a Awesome time that my daughter will never forget. We will return again. Thanks a again ,The Mendes Ranch.

Helpful?
Thank dmartinez3563
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
St. Albert, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good ride to the beach”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We did the AM ride and really liked it. There was a mix up with an old brochure and time given so we were very early. Make sure you know the ride is at 9 and not 830. The mapquest I did from Lahaina said it was an hour, the directions given to us said 90 minutes, we got there in under an hour.

Our guides were Destiny and Butch. Butch was great, explaining a lot about the horses and Maui. He picked fruit off the trees for us too, nice touch! They took photos of everybody by the beach, also a nice touch. Towards the end of the ride we had the option to run the horses up a stretch. Lots of fun!

We opted for the BBQ lunch which we enjoyed too. Basic salad, buns, good pasta salad, beans, beef and chicken. Nothing amazing but still delicious and we thought it added to our overall experience.

We would visit the Mendes Ranch again but try the afternoon tour.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Imthatguytcb247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mendes Ranch also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Mendes Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing