We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We ignored the review on tripadvisor!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saltimbocca - CLOSED

Saltimbocca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Experience the taste of Italy in the middle of the Pacific. Saltimbocca is nestled in the lively and centrally located Ma'alaea Harbor and enjoys sweeping views of the ocean and Mount Haleakala. Located 10-15 minutes away from Kahului Airport and South Maui, and on the way to West Maui (Lahaina, Kaanapali, Napili 25 minutes away). Saltimbocca fuses affordable authentic Italian cuisine with outstanding hospitality and service that transcends both plate and palate. Featuring authentic dishes artfully crafted with the finest local and organic ingredients, and fresh breads and pasta noodles made in-house daily. We proudly offer vegan and gluten-free menus for our guests. Take in the restaurant's casual upscale ambiance while enjoying cool ocean breezes and gorgeous views of mountain, ocean and harbor from our patio, dining room and bar and lounge.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We ignored the review on tripadvisor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Generally we have found that the reviews on tripadvisor are very helpful and on the money. However, when we found out that this restaurant opened only 2 months ago, we decided to take a chance and we are delighted that we did. From the moment we walked in the door and checked in with the host, we were greeted with smiles and a welcome from every employee we passed on the way to our table. The atmosphere is relaxed and the decor is lovely. The service and the food were both excellent. We will recommend this restaurant to our friends and will definitely be going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodiereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    41
    18
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The BEST Restaurant on Maui!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

A group of 10 friends decided to meet for a fun dinner, the decision as to what restaurant was difficult. We have varied tastes & could not decide among us, so decided to take a chance on a new place. We all agreed at the end on the night it was one of the very best restaurants on Maui & plan on returning. I cannot say enough about the great food,exceptional service & warm atmosphere!!! Give them a try, you will not be disappointed!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dauna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
314 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Disappointing new restaurant in Maalea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Located in the former Waterfront restaurant spot, the Saltimbocca has a great water view, great service, but disappointing Italian favors. This was one of the most expensive Italian dinners I have ever had, but unfortunately, the menu selections and flavor did not match the premium price. Since this is a new restaurant, I will give them the benefit of a three star rating, only because of a great server. Spaghetti and meatballs were very disappointing flavor wise, and house wines were overpriced when compared to many other local restaurants.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank charlesodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Italian on Maui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Hands-down best Italian food on Maui! We stopped in last week on our second night in town. It has a lovely atmosphere, incredible view, GREAT knowledgable staff and we just felt *welcome*! My hubby and I had the too-die-for scallops & prawns with a cheese sauce that I have literally been DREAMING about and must have again...then the beautifully crisp and light callimari and into an absolutely divine pumpkin & walnut ravioli, and one of their signature dishes 'Masha's pasta' which has asparagus and delish prawns. The wine pairings were dead-on and the superb dessert to follow ended what was simply the best dining experience we have had on our 10th trip to Maui. We are going back this weekend, and will make it a point to be regulars! Its a must!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
1 review
“a wonderful night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

the ambiance was so nice low lighting ocean view of the moonlight on the ocean,soft romanic music,the food and service were outstanding,Sara helped us navigate our way around the menu and was both knowledgeable and spot on with her recommendations and wine pairings.The goat cheese and hawiian honey breschetta was amazing and the roasted baby beet spinach salad with gorgonzola and candied walnuts with a hint of raspberry vinaigrette,outstanding,then we had the pumkin ravioli with sage paired with and italian wine veriatial i had never heard of but was crisp and lovely,thanks to Saras recommendations and the great location it was a very special evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blancaallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing