We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Italian food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saltimbocca - CLOSED

Saltimbocca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Experience the taste of Italy in the middle of the Pacific. Saltimbocca is nestled in the lively and centrally located Ma'alaea Harbor and enjoys sweeping views of the ocean and Mount Haleakala. Located 10-15 minutes away from Kahului Airport and South Maui, and on the way to West Maui (Lahaina, Kaanapali, Napili 25 minutes away). Saltimbocca fuses affordable authentic Italian cuisine with outstanding hospitality and service that transcends both plate and palate. Featuring authentic dishes artfully crafted with the finest local and organic ingredients, and fresh breads and pasta noodles made in-house daily. We proudly offer vegan and gluten-free menus for our guests. Take in the restaurant's casual upscale ambiance while enjoying cool ocean breezes and gorgeous views of mountain, ocean and harbor from our patio, dining room and bar and lounge.
Kahului, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

A newcomer in Ma'alaea, Saltimbocca was excellent the evening we dined there with friends. The food was fabulous, the service perfect. The menu is very diverse and the food authentic. Great wine list too. Keep up the good work Saltimbocca. We will be back for sure!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    41
    18
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing NEW ROMANTIC Maui OCEAN VIEW Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Incredible views, very welcoming staff and owner and food that is incredibly delicious!! Highly recommend this place.
Jim the owner greeted us at the door and immediately made us feel so comfortably welcomed. He 'talked story' about the new place and seated us at an amazing table just inside the lanai so we could see the sunset on the ocean. Very, very nice.
The staff was very attentive and informed and fun, but not overbearing. GREAT VALUE! Great prices for the fare. Their house chianti by the glass is a reasonable $9 and the food ranged from $22 for a pasta to $30ish for amazing protein entrees. We left there after sharing a starter, two main courses and sharing the profiterole dessert plus a couple of glasses of wine each for like $55/person. VERY REASONABLE for a restaurant this elegant and beautiful on Maui.
As for the food, it was all incredibly sublime. We shared the fried calamari and shrimp with zesty tomato sauce. It was perfectly prepared with no oil residue and a breaded crust that crunched perfectly. And on top of it all, neither the calamari nor the shrimp were overcooked, as can happen in other more expensive places.
I had the Masha Pasta, a beautiful tagliatelle pasta with shrimp, asparagus, wild mushroom and an amazing truffle sauce. The pasta was made fresh that day in the kitchen. (Jim told us everything is made fresh there, nothing is store bought). I LOVED the pasta which was named after Jim's wife as it is her creation. HINT: ordering dishes named after owner's family members has always been a great experience for me.
My dinner date ordered the Osso Bucco on cheese risotto and I was fortunate enough to have a bite. The meat just melted in my mouth with a nice sauce reduction on top of a risotto that had an amazing crunch and incredible flavor to it. That's my dish upon my next visit. WOW!
We capped off the evening with an order of profiterole. Amazing pastry with delicious cream filling and topped with a 70% cacao sauce. OMG is all I can say.
Surprisingly, there are very few ocean view restaurants that one can rave about on Maui and this is one that should clearly be in the must visit for any hau'ole or local. Incredible. Elegantly incredible but reasonably priced. GO!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SunseekerChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
1 review
“Soft opening and it was wonderful had 6 adults and 4 kids for lunch so nice great food so go!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

See above. Children for lunch. Staff and food great we will be back for sure. Need some shades on window on west side.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bettylz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exellente!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Large portions at a great price. Exceptional service with a smile. Authentic Italian recipes served with my favorite: focaccia bread. Mmmmm. BRAVO!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nini1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing