We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD CHINESE FOOD IN WAILUKU!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dragonfly - CLOSED

Dragonfly
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Wailuku, Hawaii, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GOOD CHINESE FOOD IN WAILUKU!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We love Chinese food which is my husband's favorite. Of recent we travel to Lahaina to Fu Lin (Cantonese) which we really enjoy and eat lots of it when we get to Oahu especially dim sum.
What a great surprise to experience Dragonfly (Szechuan) in Wailuku.
We tried the Chicken Cake Noodle (yummy), Kau Yuk (great flavor but needed more steaming for our taste), and Mongolian Beef (our favorite). We also sampled the Baby bok choy with eggs & garlic sauce. My husband was just going to sample it but couldn't stop eating it and he's not into vegetarian.
Annie who is quite friendly explained their style of cooking (some spicy but can make it mild) and was very interested in what we'd like to see on the menu and what we thought of the dishes.
We so look forward to going back!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roni793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New find for Beiing, Shanghai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We like this new and upcoming place for Chinese food. They are still developing their menu and we like how they are expanding and experimenting based on customers suggestions. Very friendly. We enjoy trying something new every time and haven't been disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kramer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
165 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Finally, Chinese food we like.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I have been looking for Chinese food, so i tried Dragonfly. We really liked it. Annie waited on us, served us and GM Steve came by and also checked on us. We really liked the fried rice and sweet and sour chicken. The won tons made a great starter. The beef broccoli is a skip though. I do miss the fortune cookies. So far this has been the best place for chinese food. It has covered parking, yea.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
“Excellant Chinese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I had the honey walnut shrimp, my favorite. My boyfriend tried the beef dish, fantastic. I highly recommend Dragonfly Restaurant. The owners were very accomodating and made us laugh.
Best Chinese Food on da Island! A great place to watch football!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dutertre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best Chinese Food on Maui!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I have been to Dragonfly 3 times so far and have found it to be the best Chinese food on Maui. The food is fresh and very tasty. I have tried many dishes: Cake Noodle, Mapo Tofu, Mongolian Beef, Honey Walnut Shrimp. All were very good! I have grown to like there spicy foods also. It is a Szechuan style and I always like the spicy food.

Yesterday I had the butter garlic shrimp, spicy style. I have to say it is number one! I have tried the North Shore shrimp on Oahu and they don't come close.

I am definitely going back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Waialuaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing