We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious bread”

Julia's Banana Bread
Ranked #2 of 100 Restaurants in Wailuku
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
Restaurant details
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“delicious bread”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We decided to look for this famous bread everyone is talking about. if you are planning to go,
make sure you leave early in the morning because the drive is very dangerous.

The ride coming from Kahana has really beautiful views and lots of places that you can stop to take a beautiful picture, take a walk, stop for a good coconut or pineapple, or even go and swim with the fishes lol, But once the road guys from 2 Lane to one, be very very careful because you will be driving on a one Lane 2 way street and there is nothing to keep you on the road from falling but you might and will of you getting this bread lol....

Go with a local if you know anybody or drive on a good day (no rain or traffic) and once you get there (if you do) buy more than one loaf because it is that good and you want to make sure you have more for the upcoming days. We bought 6 :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    49
    14
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Totally worth the drive!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Awesome banana bread!! What else is there to say? Totally worth the drive. Actually met Julia this time. Fantastic lady and very friendly!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect mid-point around West Maui”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Friends said we must stop here on our way around West Maui for the banana bread and they were correct. Food is great, liliko'i lemonade is fabulous (strawberry mint a close second), and the conversation is even better.
This is not a trek for those coming in for a long weekend as it take a while to get around the narrow, tight turns but it should definitely be in the plan for any longer stay. If you like banana bread and looking for a great place to chill at a picnic table away from the Maui crowds, you should head here. This is the Maui most never get to experience!

Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bread + Drive to Wailuku = Worth It”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Ooooops! We did not notice the Stop sign. The road had been paved beyond it, and we were so busy checking out the views. Then the road narrowed, but still paved, and we realized where we were and decided to continue. After all it was now paved.

Julia has a small little stand. A young girl was working it. We bought a couple of loaves @ $7 each and some lilikoi butter and hubby bought a lot of other nuts and stuff. Then we sat at the table nearby and had a picnic. It was lovely.

I love that butter. The bread was deelish too! Wish we had bought a few more loaves. Met people who love it and then met others who like the bread on the other end of the island. Different tastes. We tried many and liked them all, either for the story behind (single dad selling macadamia nut bread near Hana), to most moist (Julia's).

We made a U turn and came back as we wanted to stop at the sights we had passed by before. Met some cars who were going both ways. Not many, but a few. Not for the faint-hearted, but then nothing as bad as it was 25 years ago and there was no Julia in those days, just mary-juane farms :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canaturelover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very yummy, but maybe not worth the drive (or dive?)”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We heard this banana bread was awesome, so when we were up past Nakalele Point we decided to check it out. Be aware- the road is VERY narrow- narrower than the Road to Hana- and you have to go back the way you came (on the side of the cliff).

The banana bread WAS very good. We also bought coconut covered cashews, even better. Couldn't convince my husband to take home passionfruit butter- next time :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julia's Banana Bread also viewed

 

Been to Julia's Banana Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing