We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden restaurant”
Review of A.K.'s Cafe - CLOSED

A.K.'s Cafe
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hawaiian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Kahului, Hawaii
1 review
“Hidden restaurant”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I am a local customer and I didn't expect there is a hidden restaurant on Maui that serves variety of food. This restaurant not only serve healthy food but it also caters for local people like me. If you are visiting from somewhere try their loco moco, roasted roast pork and thai grilled chicken with chili sauce. Soooooooooooooooooooooo gooddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ANGEL60631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    10
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
maui
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dimond on the Rough of Wailuku”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

When we walked in, we were unexpectedly surprised that it had very nice atmosphere. Food was great for the area. It was not the typical junky local plate lunch place which was refreshing, even though they had plenty of local dishes on the menu. I will definitely go back. It also helped that they had really cold beer on draft.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wrldtravelermaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Maui
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Wailuku Restaurant”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is an easy restaurant to miss. During the day, you can drive right past it. At night, the lights in the trees are more inviting. Inside the decor is surprisingly nice. The menu is quirky but good, and in my experience, the food has always been excellent.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MaluhiaMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
178 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“great local feel”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I took my family to aks because i heard some great things. we had a great time. this is a dont miss for good local family food. ive been looking for clam chowder and it was the best so far. the fried chicken had a batter which was killer and the terriyaki sauce was wonderful. really good desserts, only had one flavor of ice cream and the beer we choose tapped out and it was still early. this was my only complaint. price was ok, a lot less than other places ive eaten. so if you REALLY want a locals place then take a trip to wailuku/kahului area for some ono.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weyers Cave, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful presentation!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A.K.'s Cafe seemed like a place I'd see featured on Diners, Drive-in's,and Dives. It was easy to miss if we weren't looking for it. The menu featured a "healthy choice" section, which I ordered from. You chose 4 oz. protein, 3/4 cup starch, and vegetables. I got Ono, purple sweet potatoes, and steamed veggies. The plate was beautiful and colorful as well as delicious. Everything the 4 of us ordered was pretty to look at and yummy to eat. I'd highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a good meal at a reasonable price!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank the4britts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A.K.'s Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing