We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Tempura!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo TEI

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tokyo TEI
Ranked #32 of 93 Restaurants in Wailuku
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
kihei
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tempura!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Small local place. The bentos are super tasty. Get one with the tempura. Best tempura I ever had. Ambiance and service is pleasant but not over the top

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kiheimaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
186 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best of the so-so Japanese restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Under a lower standard than Honolulu, I guess if I had to choose, this would be the best of so-so Japanese restaurants in the Wailuku and Kahului area. I can say the service is generally pretty good and the food comes out prompt. Portions are generous (they give you your own rice pot and your own tea kettle). Its better than my recent experience at Archie's, hence the 4 stars.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DT808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I had the Bento Combination with tempura shrimp & vegetables,sashime,teriyaki beef. It came with miso soup. The food quality is fresh & servers friendly.I can't wait to go back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SusheOne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible Service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We went to this place, arrived at 5:00pm, we're the first customer. The food is good, the service is terrible- we ordered the full meal that suppose to come with hot tea but we did not get our tea. I ordered red wine and they put ice on it!! Huh!!???!... I did not drink it at all- what a waste of money!!!! The place has a bad smell. I would never come back here again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yenj28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Japanese food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

All of the food here is awesome but I love the SHRIMP!!! It is a little oily but the taste as locals say broke da mouth. I like the teshoku plate that come with three dishes, I usually get the one with shrimp teriaki beef and sashimi. We go her so often they know us by name and where we prefer to be seated.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo TEI also viewed

 

Been to Tokyo TEI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing