We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this restaurant”
Review of Buzz's Wharf Restaurant - CLOSED

Buzz's Wharf Restaurant
Price range: $15 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ma'alaea Small Boat Harbor
Transit: Buzz's Wharf Restaurant is just a 1 minute walk from the Ma'alaea Harbor Village bus stop. Buses from all over Maui (Wailuku, Lahaina and Kihei) stop at Ma'alaea Harbor every hour.
Description: Established in 1967 In 1967, Jerry & Eileen Macdonald opened Buzz's Wharf Restaurant in the Ma'alaea Small Boat Harbor, where it still stands today. They shared 30 successful years in the restaurant business on Maui and Honolulu. In 1993, the Macdonald's retired and the next generation took over. The American Cuisine with an Island flavor continues on. Mrs. Macdonald's French Tahitian roots contributed to many of the unique menu items. Their signatures dish the " Prawns Tahitian" being the most popular.Buzz's Wharf Restaurant recently celebrated 45 years of operation, and is one of Maui's Long Standing restaurants. As a landmark in Ma'alaea Bay Harbor, Buzz's continues, year after year, to greet and extend their ho'okipa (hospitality) to both newcomers and their loyal local and visitor clientele. Our ocean front dining room offers panoramic views of the harbor, Mt. Haleakala and the southern coastline of Maui which only serve to enhance your dining experience.
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid this restaurant”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I submitted a review for this restaurant a couple of weeks ago, & my review was deleted, which makes me suspicious. We went to Buzz's last year, & had a good experience. Our trip this year was way different. We had drinks prior to the restaurant opening time of 5 PM for dinner, & requested dinner reservations from the bartender. We requested a window seat, & were told we couldn't reserve a specific table (even though the place was nearly empty). We did get a good table, but the hostess & waitress seemed to not really care about us; we were not informed of the evening specials, & didn't know about them until someone else came in. We ordered a couple of appetizers, including really bad onion rings. The manager heard from the waitress that we weren't pleased with the service & came to talk with us. She told us we wouldn't be charged for the appetizers, & said she hoped that we could start over. We ordered one of the "featured" entrees, Tahitian Shrimp, w/ a ribeye steak, to share. The steak was thin & overcooked, the shrimp were WAY overcooked, & not properly cleaned. When the waitress asked about the food (before we tried the shrimp), I told her the steak was overcooked, & she didn't even seem to care. The manager came back, & I told her about our food. She said we didn't owe anything, and we left. The manager seemed to want to try, but there's just no excuse for that kind of horrible food at a supposedly well-established restaurant. The help just don't seem to care.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    75
    65
    42
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
159 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“No Help”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I had eaten there before (2003 the last time). I enjoyed the Seared Ahi Tuna Sandwich, so I stopped there today and did not see it on the lunch menu, but there was a seared ahi tuna plate on the dinner menu. I asked a server if there was a chance that they could make me the sandwich for lunch, and he said that he'd check. We were seated and another server came to take our order. I told her that the other fellow was checking, and she said that she'd look into it. I watched her and the other server, and neither seemed to check with the chef or with each other. After waiting 10 minutes, we left.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn,MI
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A fine meal on a rainy night”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

It was raining hard that night and we didn't feel like driving far. Buzz's was very close by so we made some last minute reservations and went on down. We had a fine meal with a nice harbor view...at least until it got dark. Overall is very pleasant experience with prices rather typical for Maui.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank zeus_msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice View but not for the price”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We have been coming to Maui for 15 years but had never stopped at Buzz's Wharf but after whale watching trip from the harbor decided to give it a try. The service was ok but did have to wait a long time after ordering before our food arrived. Spouse had shrimp linguini which we thought was very good and I had the rib eye steak which came with french fries which was $25 there was no choice of a baked potato or anything else just steak & fries. We both would have liked to have the house salad but this was another $10 each so skipped this. The steak was cooked perfectly and very tender and fries were also good but just not what I was prepared for (steak, baked potato & salad). We will not be going back to Buzz's because feel we can get a better value and view for the money spent. This would have only received 2 stars but food bumped it up a little.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gorilla47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii
2 reviews
“What poor service..never to go back...from hostess to waitress....”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This restaurant was the worst and don't recommend anyone to go there. The wait to be seated was 1 hour, to get water was another 15 minutes, get the food was 15 minutes all burnt and thrown on the plate with just the steak and the rice, the fish was just thrown onto the plate with the vegetables that you couldn't even tell it was vegetables because it looked like a torn piece of paper. The waitress looked like she came from outer space because she seemed like she was spacing out. When the spaced out waitress brought the steak sauce, the bottle was EMPTY!!! Can you imagine bringing a bottle of steak sauce to a table that already had waited for 1 hour to be seated and no water for 15 minutes?........beware because it was good at one time but don't know what happened. We got the kamaaina rate which is only offered on Mondays and we went on a Sunday so she could have kept that..NEVER,NEVER!! to go there again.....

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Koi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buzz's Wharf Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing