We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for all ocasions.”
Review of Buzz's Wharf Restaurant - CLOSED

Buzz's Wharf Restaurant
Price range: $15 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ma'alaea Small Boat Harbor
Transit: Buzz's Wharf Restaurant is just a 1 minute walk from the Ma'alaea Harbor Village bus stop. Buses from all over Maui (Wailuku, Lahaina and Kihei) stop at Ma'alaea Harbor every hour.
Description: Established in 1967 In 1967, Jerry & Eileen Macdonald opened Buzz's Wharf Restaurant in the Ma'alaea Small Boat Harbor, where it still stands today. They shared 30 successful years in the restaurant business on Maui and Honolulu. In 1993, the Macdonald's retired and the next generation took over. The American Cuisine with an Island flavor continues on. Mrs. Macdonald's French Tahitian roots contributed to many of the unique menu items. Their signatures dish the " Prawns Tahitian" being the most popular.Buzz's Wharf Restaurant recently celebrated 45 years of operation, and is one of Maui's Long Standing restaurants. As a landmark in Ma'alaea Bay Harbor, Buzz's continues, year after year, to greet and extend their ho'okipa (hospitality) to both newcomers and their loyal local and visitor clientele. Our ocean front dining room offers panoramic views of the harbor, Mt. Haleakala and the southern coastline of Maui which only serve to enhance your dining experience.
Wailuku, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place for all ocasions.”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Took father in law to dinner for his Birthday and had a wonderful time. Great harbor views and service. I had a prime rib cooked to perfection and the wife had the prawns. The portions on the prawns seemed a little smaller than our previous visits but he taste was still awesome.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    75
    65
    42
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Owasso, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
116 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The prawns are the only reason...”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I have been to Maui a half dozen times inf the past 15 years. For some reason, after we first land we make our obligatory (and necessary) stop at Costco. Then, because it is on the way to Lahaina, we started stopping in at Buzz' as our first meal on the island. We're both lovers of great shrimp and, well, Buzz' has the best broiled shrimp just about anywhere. They are brought in from New Caledonia (somewhere around Australia) and, man, are they sweet and special. My wife usually gets the Macadamia encrusted fish of the day (Mahi Mahi yesterday). Really good. Never had the steak (get plenty of that in Okla!)
Ok, service is slow and the place is of only average atmosphere. But it is worth a try---if ony for the prawns

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 19jonesey54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Had to wait an hour for our dinner”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

poor service. When we complained to our server that we had to wait an hour for our dinner she denied we had been waiting that long and offered no apology.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan749_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The one bad meal we had the whole week in Maui”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Buzz's was a disappointment at a number of levels.

The food was bad. The steak was overdone and still fatty. The potatoes were almost as hard as cold lava rocks. The teriaki chicken was greasy. The restaurant was noisy, reminding us of restaurants that cater to retirees of the 1970s. And the prices are comparable to much better restaurants, such as Milagros or Flatbread Pizza in Paia, 808 Cafe in Kihei, Hana Ranch, the Pioneer Inn in Lahina, etc.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tietack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great during happy hour!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We happened to get there and did not know they didn't open for dinner until 5pm. It turned out great for us, we were during happy hour and got discounted appetizers and $5 margarita's. The calamari was excellent. It is in a great location if you want to eat on that side of the island. Beautiful views and the service was very good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LFordham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buzz's Wharf Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing