We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Neighborhood Treasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tradewinds Mart & Deli Incorporated

Tradewinds Mart & Deli Incorporated
Ranked #28 of 95 Restaurants in Wailuku
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Coulee City, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Neighborhood Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We so enjoyed frequenting the Tradewinds while in Maalaea! The friendly couple who operate it are helpful with info about local events, and the fresh produce is superb. We ate local fruit that was delicious, as well as a yummy fried rice breakfast and some hearty, custom sandwiches perfect to take along for a sight-seeing lunch. The owners work long days, every day, but never fail to give a cheerful wave and hello as you walk by on your way to the harbor or the buses.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bluelakelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite, Nevada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

They are located on the bottom floor of the first condo building next to the Ma'alaea Harbor. It is a little convenience store that also serves deli sandwiches, a daily lunch special, and killer (in a good way) chili dogs. The owners are so friendly and helpful.
We stop there after the morning whale watch trips to have either a chili dog with cheese and onions (one is enough to feed my wife and I) with a nice cold beer or one of their daily lunch specials which rotate between chicken adobo (made with thighs), yellow curry chicken, red curry chicken, Korean chicken, and a couple of others we have not tried. They are all great and very reasonably priced - this is where most of the workers at the retail shops at the Ma'alaea Harbor shops and the boat crews come to get their food.
They also have great local papayas and bananas priced better than Safeway or Whole Foods in Kahului.
Probably ate there every second or third day while we were in Ma'alaea. It is the best local-knowledge place in Ma'alaea!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NV_Travelers_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for a quick lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very convenient place to pick up last minute items such as fresh fruit, vegestables and cold beer. They have adobo chicken (delicious) or sandwiches to go

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank myrline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a true "mom&pop"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

The owners are so friendly and helpful to visitors! Try their great sandwiches to take to the beach. Also, for true local flavor we had their breakfast fried rice with eggs and meats on the morning we left our condo. Local farmers drop off a little bit of everything including gigantic buttery avocado and ready-to-eat papayas which we ate EVERY DAY. Everything from beer to band-aids.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Goodfreund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient location for Maalaea residents and visitors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Tradewinds Deli is a real gem, located just a step away from the busy Maalaea Harbor. They have a nice selection of convenience items, and they make a great pastrami and Swiss cheese sandwich! Definitely worth a stop when you are getting off a boat tour or just driving near Maalaea.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GeezerBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tradewinds Mart & Deli Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Tradewinds Mart & Deli Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing