We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great salmon!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Saigon Cafe

A Saigon Cafe
Ranked #6 of 93 Restaurants in Wailuku
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
299 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great salmon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had most pleasant and helpful service. The night we visited they recommended a steamed salmon with vegetables that is one of the best we have ever tasted. A very generous portion of salmon for a very reasonable price with loads of vegey! We found the clay hot pot a little dry but the summer salad rolls were great with fresh mint. A little tricky to find, you can see it from the Main Street but have to make a series of right turns from central avenue to backtrack to it. Well worth it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bennybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    68
    17
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Morehead, KY
Level Contributor
199 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Vietnamese Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Have been eating at this restaurant for many, many years and are always happy with the food, service and atmosphere. Truly a gem on Maui, but at little difficult to find. Mostly locals and always good-natured abuse from the staff. Recommend it highly and don't be turned off by location or exterior.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Geat place for a nice bowl of noodles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you love Vietnamese style noodles served in a large and well-stocked bowl of goodies at a price you can relax with, this is the place.
The waiter's a card, the atmosphere is good, the menu is large.
Let's go!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank flylowguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
international
Level Contributor
178 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Wonderful vietnamese food, zagat rated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our extended family of 8 stumbled across the Saigon Cafe and were glad we did. The menu was extensive and offered fantastic soups, noodles and hot pots. Everyone loved it and the plates were perfect for sharing. It was a bit tricky to find since there is no sign on the building but the locals clearly know it well!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steff0566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“must go ! excellent food, and service plus great price !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We combined it with a visit to the local museum, baldwin museum, and have been eating here several korean dishes, all perfect and tasty ingredients cooked in a perfect way. Service was top notch, we loved it, mamas restaurant has the name, this restaurant has the taste. For me this is the number one !

Helpful?
Thank dutch747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Saigon Cafe also viewed

 

Been to A Saigon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing