We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ma'alaea General Store & Cafe

Ma'alaea General Store & Cafe
Ranked #5 of 94 Restaurants in Wailuku
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
Mililani Town, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Convenient, good food, helpful staff. The fish tacos are excelent. If your by the yacht quick place for a bite

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ralocr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    71
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quick place to stop for a lite bite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Good deli and sandwiches. General store stuff get a cold drink or snack. Nice atmosphere and friendly staff. Plus great views of the harbor.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank loveit45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Richland, Washington
1 review
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stopped at the Maalaea General Store and Café for lunch. My wife and I split a tuna melt and a order of sweet potato fries. We sat outside, enjoying the view of the harbor and one of the best tuna melts we have ever had. This was are third time to Maui, and will make this a tradition for future trips.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerome P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quick lunch energized us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stopped by Ma'alaea General Store and had lunch before heading to the beach for the day and this was a great small meal that had us going all day. I had a hot cuban sandwich which was excellent and my husband had fish tacos and he wanted to lick the plate. The fries are really good and the price was not bad either. I would definately go back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott N Tavia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona
Level Contributor
125 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Really good sandwich!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We read a couple reviews that seemed a bit iffy, so weren't sure we were doing the right thing eating here. We arrived at noon and it was packed.

Our cashier seemed to really be struggling getting anything right, so we held our breath on our Ham and Swiss Boar's Head sandwich (I have a strange pallet, so added a 95 cent hot dog on sale).

The sandwich was Fantastic! I highly recommend this as an alternative to the everyday restaurant food. Great! (And I'd eat another hot dog, but next time with chili)!

Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ma'alaea General Store & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Ma'alaea General Store & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing