We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is good, nothing else”

Ma'alaea General Store & Cafe
Ranked #8 of 100 Restaurants in Wailuku
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
570 reviews
525 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Food is good, nothing else”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is like any gas station/convence market with a food counter inside except they don't sell gas. Their chicken salad is good enough for a special trip if you get it to go. The menu is a little better than your basic mainland counterpart but this is not a destination restaurant. Order at one counter, pick up a canned beverage from the cooler case, pay at another counter and wait outside until your food arrives in a plastic basket with perhaps a plastic fork. You see the port across the street. They have a few dining tables but it's pretty rustic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank denisx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    88
    23
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Still Don't Want to Tell You About This Place...”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Reviewed March 29, 2013

Lunch was awesome! The staff were great and appeared to really care about the customers. We had a chicken salad sandwich with walnuts and cranberries on bread so fresh that it left us wanting more. We shared the sandwich and were both full so we didn't have a desert but they looked good. We'll be back before everyone "discovers" this place.

Went back 6/9/2013

See above. It was still the same - same sandwich and it was delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank The2TravelingFools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manson, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a great experience. The food was great and the service was excellent. They treated us like family. Not fancy but well worth it after the Aquarium.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Don't overlook this little gem”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

While staying in a nearby condo, we stopped in to get some picnic goodies. We chose a container of chicken salad and one of tuna salad, then purchased some crackers. Wow! It was so fantastic we actually went back a few nights later to have sandwiches, this time tuna and egg salad. Both sandwiches were served on warm, toasted focaccia bread and were large enough for two meals. Honestly, these were some of the best concoctions I've had anywhere, including fancy restaurants. Well worth stopping by. Whoever is doing the cooking has a passion for getting things right. We should have eaten here more often! They have hot food, too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodyMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Part cafe, part grocery , this little place is both. A great place for a quick meal or a last minute grocery need. Friendly staff and good food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirl1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ma'alaea General Store & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Ma'alaea General Store & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing