We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wailuku Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wailuku Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 4 Wailuku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
“A wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

My goal was to relax, see the island, and experience the real Hawaii, and Wailuku guesthouse did not disappoint. Maureen couldn't be more accomodating and took care of us like family. Her baked goods are delicious!
The pool setting with garden and entertaining parrots were lovely. We were able to enjoy the restfulness and beauty all day long. Great place for a family gathering and barbeque.
There is a walking tour of the historical city of Wailuku starting at the Bailey Museum, which is very interesting and fun. Maureen left a great tour book, which we used to discover the island. Lahaina and Kihei are not too far, and we felt very centrally located.
We definitely plan to stay there again. My only uncomfortable moment lasted less than a minute when the local refuse company picked up the container at about 2 am. Then, back to sleep!
I was so grateful to be able to leave the excitement of the beachfront for the tranquility of this lovely and historical guesthouse.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    69
    14
    6
    10
See reviews for
36
106
37
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

From the moment you check in, you feel at home.This guest house makes you feel like you are one of the locals. Perfectly located in the heart of Maui, makes it convienient to explore either side of the island. You can be on a beach in 5 minuets, or in town having a slice of New York style pizza in 3. There is a mall, food & drug store, even a Kmart all within 10 minutes.
Some days Maureen will surprise you, when you return home, with some of her delicious home made treats. If you don't want to just hang at the wonderful pool, complete with a waterfall, grab a few beach chairs and snorkling gear, that is supplied there for the asking, and head to the beach!
We have stayed there twice now over the last 3 years, and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. A splendid time is guaranteed for all!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anyroad25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

This was a refreshing change from big, commercial hotels. It's a lovely guesthouse within the owners' own home and not far from major attractions. The rooms are clean with a/c, coffee maker and T.V. On two occasions after returning from a day out, we found some delicious home baked goods in our room - courtesy of Maureen the owner. There is a comfy sitting area by their pool, and also one which has a canopy, wine cooler and evening lighting - ideal for an al fresco meal. Nearby are their pet parrots and birds and lush vegetation. Friendly, helpful, at-home ambiance.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Evietum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

Loved it and will always stay here when we are in Maui!!! Very clean and affordable, almost felt like horme, ,,,,,great owners!!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandygrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
161 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

Very friendly -although a bit expensive- guesthouse.
Comfortable room with one big bed, airco, bathroom and coffe/tea maker.

Cosy sitting area in the garden, next to the swimming pool. Lighted, so it can be used after dark as well. However: beware of the insects (got some unpleasant musquito bites).
Very friendly hosts, who do whatever is possible to make you feel at home.
Meet the dogs and the parrots.

Wailuku itself isn't very interesting, but a good central point for excursions.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchman-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacifica, ca
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

I was sent to Maui on a very short notice to help out upgrading a telephone switch for an HMO company. I have never been to the island and do not know where to stay. My company's website for accomodation listed only four locations. One of them was Wailuku Guesthouse. I did not know what to expect - accomodation wise. I just needed a place to sleep and take a shower. What I experienced staying at room named "Garden Ohana" was wonderful. Home away from home. I managed to enjoy the pool and get some sun one day after a hard night's work. I will always remember the fauna and flora surrounding the property. Maureen and Doug, Mahalo nui loa for your hospitality.

One very satisfied guest,
roel sinlao

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kilayboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

Instead of the run-down room in a noisy, possibly unsafe neighborhood that we were expecting at this price, we got an immaculate, cozy, quiet place within walking distance of good restaurants. The backyard, secluded by fencing and tropical vegetation (with a pool, yet) makes a nice place to sit around in the evening and trade travel advice with the other guests. Maureen couldn't be a more helpful and friendly proprietor.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RickandSherryOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
2.0 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
1.9 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
3.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
11.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wailuku Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailuku Guesthouse

Property: Wailuku Guesthouse
Address: 210 S Market St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-2234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wailuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wailuku Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wailuku Guesthouse is a clean, affordable accommodation on the beautiful island of Maui. Centrally located with a saltwater pool with waterfalls, barbeque, cable TV and air conditioning,beach chairs, beach towels, snorkel gear, coolers for packing great lunches and chilly drinks and free use of the Maui Revealed Guide Book. The house dates back to the early 1900's as a plantation home. Then it was used as officer's quarter's in 1945. The current owners have done many renovations and the rooms are kept spotlessly clean. It offers free wi-fi and parking for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wailuku Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailuku Guesthouse Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing