We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll be back!”
Review of Wailuku Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wailuku Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 4 Wailuku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Wailuku Guesthouse this July. We were looking for affordable accomodations, as our stay on the island was 2 weeks long, and we hopped around from place to place. We stayed in the Hibiscus room, and it was perfect for our needs. The pool and patio were awesome, as well as the hospitality and atmosphere! It was a great location on the island, nice and quiet, yet provided easy access to all the sights we wanted to see. We hope to return to the island w/our children someday, and will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMama74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 231 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were warmly welcomed by Maureen. with freshly made banada bread and macaroons. She and her husband have several rooms and a beautiful deck with a salt water pool. The bedroom was cozy.and clean. It was great to have a resouce book with recommended restaurants. We fell in love with Cafe au Lei.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband and I absolutely love staying at Maureen's! This was our second stay, the first time we stayed in the Wasabi Room, this time- the Mill Room. Both were great. Maureen is such an amazing hostess. She really goes all out. When we arrived and went to out room, she had it nice and clean and with macaroons- yummy. Plus, she was liberal with the towels. And she has the best ever beach chairs- however, there was some debate as to whether they were beach or lawn chairs...hahaha. Nevertheless, they were very comfortable and had drink holders:)
The saltwater pool is great. And so are the talking birds. And whenever relaxing there, it always feels like it's 5 o'clock....in Paradise.
Hopefully next year we will make it back, and for sure, we will be staying at the Wailuku Guest House.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUPGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

The Wailuku Guesthouse was such a find. We wanted to be iin the middle of the island. It was perfect. Easy to get to many areas of the island from this Wailuku location. The host, Maureen, was inviting, energetic and a wealth of knowledge. Our room, the Plantation Room was great. It had a queen bed, refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, desk, air-conditioning and a ceiling fan. The private bath had a tub and shower too. The best was the saltwater-pool common area. Waterfalls, dining tables and lots of beach stuff.

Kathy Harima

Room Tip: Call for best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pawcatuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at the Wailuku Guesthouse, in the Hibiscus room, for two weeks. It really was a home away from home for us. True the room is tiny, but it is very clean and had everything we needed. I know some people would be dissapointed by the size, so if you are coming to Maui to lounge around in your room the Hibiscus room might not be for you. Good value for the low price.
We also loved the pool. It is a good sized salt-water pool. Also kept at the perfect temperature. Plenty of chairs and tables. With the parrots in the background and all the beautiful tropical trees and plants it was a treat.
Maureen greeted us when we arrived and made our stay very comfortable and homey. We also got to sample her wonderful bread. My daughter could not get enough of the mangos that Maureen gave to us.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leylabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

I traveled to this location to attend a wedding. It was a very relaxing and cozy environment. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. The pool was wonderful, and access to the barbeque was a bonus. The beaches were a bit of a drive away, but being able to bring beach chairs, coolers and towels provided by the guesthouse was a nice treat. Over all my experience at the Wailuku Guesthouse was very enjoyable and is recommended to anyone looking to have an affordable and pleasurable vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mills36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

My wife and I had an excellent vacation stay at the Wailuku GuestHouse. We were greeted with a friendly smile from the owner. The house was quiet in spite of the fact that there were families there. When we first walked in, she had a bag of a local baker who makes macaroons. It was the best around. If you go to the flea market on Saturdays you will see her selling many different varieties of macaroons.

We always had clean towels and the owner was always attentive to our needs. She would surprise us now and then. For example, one afternoon she sent her son to to pool area with a plate of fresh, cool and sliced Papaya straight from her garden.

On another occasion she made her "famous" Banana nut bread for us. It was excellent!
She was quick to tell us the various places we can go to sight see and where to shop.

She even had 'kick boards' and folding chairs to take with us to the beach, and even a small cooler! I particularly had an interest in playing tennis. Right around the corner was Wells Park which has 7 tennis courts of which 6 are lighted.

Wailuku GuestHouse is within easy reach all the different sites. whether it is going top the Hana Coast, Kihei, to hike Haleakala, play tennis in Wailea or to just go down the street to go to Costco for a Polish hotdog.

If we ever get back there again, I would like to stay at The Wailuku GuestHouse , maybe try another room.

If you ever go there, tell Maureen, that Joe and Kathleen sent you!

Mahalo!

Room Tip: Just check her website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MahaloJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
2.0 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,074 reviews
1.8 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
549 reviews
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
0.3 mi away
Northshore Hostel Maui
Northshore Hostel Maui
#1 of 9 in Wailuku
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wailuku Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailuku Guesthouse

Address: 210 S Market St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-2234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wailuku
Price Range: $133 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wailuku Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wailuku Guesthouse is a clean, affordable accommodation on the beautiful island of Maui. Centrally located with a saltwater pool with waterfalls, barbeque, cable TV and air conditioning,beach chairs, beach towels, snorkel gear, coolers for packing great lunches and chilly drinks and free use of the Maui Revealed Guide Book. The house dates back to the early 1900's as a plantation home. Then it was used as officer's quarter's in 1945. The current owners have done many renovations and the rooms are kept spotlessly clean. It offers free wi-fi and parking for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Wailuku Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailuku Guesthouse Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing