We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing pizza!”
Review of Porto - CLOSED

Porto
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: Our NamePorto is the Italian word for “port” or “harbor.” We are located at Ma’alaea Harbor on the beautiful Hawaiian island of Maui.Our MissionAt Porto, we are artisans in pursuit of perfection, working to serve you real food that’s delicious and healthy. We start with fresh, all-natural and authentic ingredients of extraordinary flavor. We source fresh herbs, vegetables and fruits from local farmers, choosing organic whenever available, to support sustainable local agriculture and to deliver the tantalizing flavors of our islands to your palate.Pizza With a PurposeWe’re proud to save whales, dolphins and the oceans, one pizza at a time. All profits from Porto support Pacific Whale Foundation’s efforts to protect our oceans through science and advocacy.Porto is Now Open for Lunch & Dinner10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Restaurant details
Description: Our NamePorto is the Italian word for “port” or “harbor.” We are located at Ma’alaea Harbor on the beautiful Hawaiian island of Maui.Our MissionAt Porto, we are artisans in pursuit of perfection, working to serve you real food that’s delicious and healthy. We start with fresh, all-natural and authentic ingredients of extraordinary flavor. We source fresh herbs, vegetables and fruits from local farmers, choosing organic whenever available, to support sustainable local agriculture and to deliver the tantalizing flavors of our islands to your palate.Pizza With a PurposeWe’re proud to save whales, dolphins and the oceans, one pizza at a time. All profits from Porto support Pacific Whale Foundation’s efforts to protect our oceans through science and advocacy.Porto is Now Open for Lunch & Dinner10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing pizza!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Omg it's everything you dream about a pizza place. Simple surroundings, excellent staff, amazing food. We had chicken al pesto and mushroom pizza ..... To die for.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aletris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    43
    13
    2
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
lahaina, maui, hi.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“good pizza”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

i've stopped by here three times in the last two months. I really like their pizza.
it's hard to say what style it is but the crust is thin and the toppings are generous and fresh
nice chunk of sausage, plenty of peperoni, fresh mushrooms and bell pepper and olives.
what I like most is that the pizza is not under baked like most brick oven pizza seems to be,
here they make sure the crust is crisp and the toppings are hot and the pizza is baked through to the center.........I've had salad there and it was good also plus free refills on the maui made lemonade which is fresh squeezed lemonade......prices are resonable and you can sit outside if it's not too windy.........or inside , there is a view of the ocean

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rick9cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Porto Pizzeria”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our condo was only 1/2 mile away, and due to the discount afforded by our Pacific Whale foundation membership, we had several lunches and a take-out dinner here. The food is good enough to wish for an expansion of the menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry-Cindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregkaufman, Manager at Porto, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for all of your support of Porto during your recent visit. We are in the process of expanding our menu, so hopefully, the next time you come to Maui, we'll have other delicious Mediterranean dishes for you to enjoy. As you mentioned, Porto offers a 20% discount to all Pacific Whale Foundation Members. The Memberships start at $40 for seniors and students, and include an array of money-saving discounts and benefits. In addition, profits from Porto go to support Pacific Whale Foundation's work to protect our oceans through science and advocacy. Thank you for dining with us and making a difference!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

After visiting the Maui Ocean Centre we found the Porto restaurant (Ma’alaea Harbor Shops). Lunch was a great pizza and glass of wine. Rectangular but the taste was soooo deliciously. We had a half and half (chicken and pepperoni). The two of us devoured it in no time! The service was excellent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clark52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best pizza ever!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had the wonderful lemonade and a great pizza! All the ingredients are local and delicious!
The waitress understood immediately that we are vegan and did manage to modify the recipe accordingly.
The atmosphere is very friendly and relaxed; this is not a glamour place, but it is cozy, intimate and everybody are really nice.
Laast but not least, great value for money!
Visit Porto, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing