We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your own linen and supplies”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wailuku
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waianapanapa State Park Cabins
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bring your own linen and supplies”
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Just before we left home, I received a notice that because of budget cuts the state was no longer providing sheets for the beds. When we got there, there was a notice that for the same reason they would no be replenishing any supplies. I assume this means you need to bring your own toilet paper, soap, dishwashing, liquid, etc., as well as bed linen. There is an (expensive) general store in Hana, if you forget.

The cabin we stayed in was certainly rundown (a cabinet door was missing, part of one window frame was rotted, some paint was peeling, etc.) On the other hand, the setting is pretty, the park is beautiful, the cabins are reasonably comfortable (though warm on the nights we were there, without decent cross-ventilation), the stove and refrigerator worked, the bathroom was reasonably clean and it is awfully cheap. Our cabin had one large main room which includes the kitchenette, a table and two beds. A small additional room had 2 bunk beds. There was no functional barbecue.

For a family on a budget, it is quite a deal, especially since you can cook for yourselves.

Be sure not to miss swimming in the cave where a pool i fed by a freshwater stream!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSfamily00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    24
    15
    4
    8
See reviews for
30
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

These cabins are not maintained at all. The beds are musty and dirty. The toilets are horrible. There were lizards in the cabin. Luckily for us, we had booked this cabin only for one night. There is someone looking for us from above!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HThomasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wailuku hotels

Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2009

We came here and stayed for first 3 of our 10 days in maui. The cabins are very rustic and not very well kept. Although I've heard there have been some improvements since our stay. After about an hour in the cabin my wife said "I didn't come 4000 miles for this". Dirty pans and bathrooms. Linens didnt cover the beds which were dirty as well.

With that said, my kids thought it was the greatest place on earth and several times have said when are we going back to stay in the cabins with the coconut trees. They loved climbing on the bunk beds. A night with no tv they found the geckos eating the bugs in the room to be very entertaining. We cooked hot dogs over an open fire at night. Went for awesone hikes in the day. I shouldn't say this but we carved are initials on the wall with everyone elses(if you see "MM was here"you got out cabin).Even my wife came around.
When we left we had a certain fondness for the prace. We all pitched in to clean up and much as we could even though it was king of beyond a good cleaning. We plan to go back next year. Its a great family getaway where parents can focus on being with there kids. Like it or not its a memorable expereince.

Tips:
-If you want a resort goto one.
-Bring extra wet wipes and shower shoes for the bathroom(Towels as well).
-Bring disposable plates and forks for eating.
-Bring extra sheets, pillow, sleeling bag.
-Stay here for the first 2 to 3 days and move to much nicer accomadations for the rest of your trip.
-Stock up at safeway and get a duro log for fire.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PhoenixTmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2009

My brother, sister and i stayed there 4/8-10/09. Loved the location, nice to have a dry, clean place to stay. Bought a pillow at kmart before arriving thanks to other reviews. You need a pillow to sleep, why wouldn't they provide them Nice hot shower. Nice to cook dinner each night and hang out on the porch listening to the ocean crashing against the rocks. The cabins are so close to being great, it would take just a little to make them so much better. Charge a bit more per week and fix them up, kitchen counters, dishes, sheets, pillows, towels. Otherwise a great place. It was a nice contrast to save some money, tour the area, then move on to the luxury of the Prince Maui hotel for the rest of our stay on Maui.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mt10grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2009

Stayed in Cabin #4. It is an excellent location with a lovely view. I' m sure it would be peacuful, except that they were doing some construction on the driveway/road at the time. I sincerely hope that they are planning to update the interior of the cabins! It was reasonably clean but overall gross! Not charming or rustic but worn down to a state of creepiness. The toilet seat was worn down to the wood. How much is a toilet seat? The walls were stained. The linoleum missing in chunks. The paint peeling. The window sils rotting. The appliances rusting. I regularly stay in state cabins when we travel. I would not stay here again, even for $45 a night. On the bright side. The mattresses must have been replaced recently and we got a good nights sleep. We woke up and walked on the black sand beach and then up a trail on the far side across black cliffs along the ocean. Spectacular! You can, of course, go the the park without subjecting yourself to the cabins. But find somewhere to stay. The ride to Hana and back should not be done in one day. Particularly if you go beyond Hana to Ohea Gulch. Which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ktjnemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yucca valley california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

My first visit to Maui and Hana...had a blast....went with a local so I didnt have to drive the Hana Highway
The cabin was like a girl scout cabin with hot running what so after a day snorkling it was very nice
Wasnt used to sleeping on a twin bed but was better than sleeping on the ground in a tent and getting wet when it rained
Leaving the windows open so you could here the waves crash on the cliffs was awsome
Being able to cook meals and not having to by fast food was great too
Fishing off the lava forms was great...although didnt catch anything but a small crab
was very relaxing
Lots of visitors have complained about the cabins...they are clean...old...and very rustic...but think of the money you saved staying in a nice quite place
Not having to pay for a pricey noisey hotel room
I am no back in California saving for my next trip to Hana ...cant wait

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bugnbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We drove to Hana and stopped at this beach. It was so beautiful. Black rocks, blue ocean and green trees. It's like something out of a dream. Stop by if you are in Maui.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Makemineadouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
34.7 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
2.3 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,049 reviews
3.6 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Northshore Hostel Maui
Northshore Hostel Maui
#1 of 9 in Wailuku
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waianapanapa State Park Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waianapanapa State Park Cabins

Property: Waianapanapa State Park Cabins
Address: 54 S High St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-2102
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Wailuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Waianapanapa State Park Cabins Hotel Wailuku
Waianapanapa State Park Cabins Maui/Wailuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing