We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A personal experience that no 5 star could do”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northshore Hostel Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the North Shore Hostel for 23 days, while exploring Maui. The staff treated you less like a guest and more like a member of their own family. The knowledge they had of the island was more than enough to keep me entertained throughout the entire trip.
Scott, Janine and Chris are some of the best people I ever met in all my hostel stays (11 to date), they were very attentive to everyone's needs and all have an awesome sense of humor.
I stayed in one of the many dorm rooms with a group of awesome people and made some life long friends along the way. The dorm beds were comfortable, the rooms have AC units and they have an awesome kitchen, that have free pancakes, coffee and tea in the morning. There is no swimming pool or fitness center, but who needs one with all the beaches and hiking trails?
The surrounding town has most of the amenities that you need: gas station, drug store, coffee shop, nice eatery down the road and even a local pub.
When I return to Maui, I will most definetly be returning to see these great people. If I don't, I'm sure Janine would probably kill me.

Room Tip: Get the dorms, you can talk to a bunch of awesome people and make good friends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thanks for your wonderful description, we couldn't say it any better. We hope that you return to say hello again soon...a hui hoa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 442 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

Nice and friendly staff clean rooms. A bit overpriced for what you got and where it was located. I guess That's Maui. Not smoker friendly forcing smokers to cross the road and smoke in a dingy and dodgy car park with junkies and crazy's was a bit worrying especially at night but again I noticed all over Maui smokers were treated like 2nd class citizens. In summary good hostel bad location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Anthony
Sorry you had a bad time...we do ask that guests smoke across the street...it's actually a law in Hawaii that smokers cannot be within 7 meters (20 feet) of any business entrance. And we are still the lowest priced hostel in Maui....happy trails!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hostel is just perfect for travelers looking for all the comforts of home when staying in Maui at a fraction of the cost. We were on our honeymoon so we got the private room which had a nice cozy bed with privacy blinds and curtains plus AC and a ceiling fan. It was very warm when we were there and we didn't even use the AC but turned it on fan only at night for white noise from the traffic outside. There is a great little street in walking distance with great shopping and dining including a Subway , tattoo shop, and a massage parlor that I recommend. Safe parking across the street and short drive to the airport and beach. 24hr gas station down the street too. The bathrooms are shared but updated and kept spotless. we always had hot water and never had to wait as there are 4 bathrooms with showers. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the balcony has a great view of the mountains and plenty of free coffee and pancakes in the Kitchen. This place is great. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

Room Tip: private rooms by the balcony are just as nice as a high priced hotel with ac and and a view of parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TitsFruityAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thanks for your excellent description....I want to use your review in our marketing material! Mahalo for your visit and Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I'm not a huge hosteling person, I've stayed in a few here and there. I think everyone knows your experience at a hostel in Europe is going to be much better than one in the US. This hostel is no exception. The staff was super friendly and very helpful with local information. I actually stayed at 3 of the hostels on Maui and this was by far the best one. If your not familiar with Maui you should know that the location of this hostel is in Town and will be the farthest away from the beaches an several of the attractions so you will definitely want to have a car. There's several bathrooms, and a kitchen for use shared use, but I can't speak to how convenient it is, since I was only there to sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorbyOnMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thanks for rating us the top Maui hostel....we work hard to be the best and please our guests...happy trails!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hostel is centrally located in Wailuku and easy to get to from the airport. Clean rooms and bathrooms as well and a great common area to hang out in. The guys working there are friendly and helpful. I'd definitely stay here again, one of the best hostels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thanks Tim, we hope you do choose to stay with us again, we appreciate our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My friend from Hawaii recommended it. I called them and booked a dorm room for one night. Staff was very friendly. The place had everything what I needed. I don't know what else to say so I can have at least 200 words so that my review can go through. I liked the place. It was my first experience in a hostel. It went great.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krasleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Please thank your friend for recommending us to you....mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

It's a really nice hostel, clean, friendly...We feel like a family in there.
People are very friendly, the kitchen is very clean, and it's the same for the bathroom.
You have free airport shuttle.
The hostel are very quiet, maybe too quiet but it's okay.
You have to take the bus to visit a lot of places. But in Wailuku there is a mall which is not so far from the hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Merci Stephanie for your visit and bon voyage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
2.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,074 reviews
2.0 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
549 reviews
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Paia Inn
Paia Inn
#1 of 1 in Paia
757 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Tiki Beach Hostel
The Tiki Beach Hostel
#32 of 43 in Lahaina
65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northshore Hostel Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northshore Hostel Maui

Address: 2080 W Vineyard St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-5614
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Wailuku
Price Range: $42 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and E Komo Mai! The Northshore Hostel Maui is an ideal location to explore our tropical paradise. Spend your entire holiday with us or just one night! Our rates are the lowest on Maui and we strive to offer impeccable customer service to guests of all ages. We are located in downtown Wailuku, in the foothills of the West Maui Mountains, only 5 miles (10K) from the airport. We offer free airport transfers for our guests. Our facility is clean, safe, secure and friendly. A hostel is a great way to meet new people and save your hard earned money! You will find it easy to relax and feel comfortable and enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you soon. A hui hoa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Northshore Hostel Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northshore Maui Hotel Wailuku
Northshore Hostel Maui Wailuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing