We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Northshore Hostel Maui
Nearby Hotels
$147
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$164
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$476
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$312
$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lahaina Inn(Lahaina)
$179
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
$335
$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort(Lahaina)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveler rating
267
152
30
18
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
152
30
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth shorequiet hourspancakesprivate roomthe kitchenrental cardoor codesecurity camerasairport shuttlepancake mixclean roomsgreat place to stayfree coffeeenjoyed my stayquiet placefelt safelight sleeper
Filter
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 476 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

What I really appreciated about this hostel was how clean and well organized it was. There was a very positive atmosphere set by the owner, who was really nice, and it's obvious that he treats his staff well-- and they treat the visitors well, too. This has got to be the best deal on Maui. If you want to stay at a raucous party house, then go somewhere else. This place is chill, and has lots of great people staying at it. No worries or concerns about safety or security, either.

Room Tip: I stayed in both a dorm and a private room. Unlike some hostels, the private rooms are well worth the extra money because you really do have privacy (if you don't have to worry about a budget).
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ada_mae_gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Ada
Thank you very much for your accurate review. We really do work hard to be the best budget accommodation on Maui....we hope to see you again....mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Pro: clean, quite, non-smoking/non-party
Con: internet's on and off most of the time (no very reliable), don't know if that is the purpose for folks going to coffee shop (1 block down on market) for the coffee shop internet wifi's. If the internet was stable, it would great for guests to enjoy the stay inside the hostel in the evening after dinner; also convenient for guest to check the car rental or boarding pass. The ads in its website for free internet usage but for my whole stay (5 nights), none of a night has stable internet, even for simple jobs checking yahoo email (ok to login into yahoo, then wait for ever).
Car is a need to stay there.
Wish if the hostel can have one day tour to hana or volcanic for folks without car; or have a bulletin to guest to ask the carpool ride or sharing the rental car or any other needs.

Room Tip: the first floor rooms, guest has to go outside (at night) to get in the entrance door entering key codes as all the bathroom/restrooms are on the second floor and no connection from first floor rooms inside, so if one needs to use bathroom during a night, it is not easy to go back to sleep as you have to stay alert to get out of your room to go outside
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belilom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for writing. I apologize about the internet during your stay, we have since dropped our DSL service as it was unreliable...we were experiencing the same trouble in the office as well, which was equally frustrating. We finally have it 'dialed in'. Mahalo for staying with us and we regret your dissatisfaction with the internet during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here with a friend back in early November for 2 nights. This was one of the cleanest hostels I have stayed in. The rooms and bathrooms especially were spotless. There is a nice place to hang out in. Nice kitchen area. The staff was super friendly. There were a lot of helpful brochures and information about local restaurants, and how to get around on the bus. I liked that they had quiet hours and stuck to them! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thanks ABSteph for staying with us. It's always great to know that our hard work is paying off! Mahalo....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Coming in on 27 December when there are no Hotel rooms left in Maui. I remember hostels were the way to go back in College and found this Gem. Booked a private room and just stayed for 2 nights. Thank the owners for the Quiet Hours as I arrived at 11pm to a very quiet room. Shouts out to reception Chris for letting me know the tea and coffee on the shelves. No thrills or frills folks but you will get a nice rest, shower, and pancakes in the morning. I haven't had the time to really talk to others but if you are single, its not that hard to shack or shower up with a roommate as I have seen. But hey, that's personal. All I care is that this is a Professionally run hostel and they made my Maui trip the best. Thank you again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clandestiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Aloha Clandestiny, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for taking the time to tell others what a great hostel we are!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

It's no Four Seasons, but on a budget, it's great :) It's a very clean hostel...it feels like you are staying with friends. And you can't beat the price. They do have at least one room that is for couples, or if you are an adventurer, the have single sex dorm rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindsaynd09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Lindsay
Thanks for your kind words and great review. We agree and we're always working hard to be the best! We hope to see you again someday....a hui hoa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews