We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely an A-class hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northshore Hostel Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

After staying in quite a few hostels in Hawaii I wasn't expecting much when I got here. But as soon as I climbed the stairs I was totally blown away: The place is really nice, the staff ultra-friendly and the facilities offer everything from in-dorm fans to washer, dryer, WIFI, computer, full kitchen and nice bathrooms! You can rent nice towels for $1, they offer free pancakes in the morning, clean daily and really care about security with a lot of cameras, a code to get inside and locked dorms. Overall one of the best hostels I ever stayed in and definitely my best hosteling experience in Hawaii! The only downsides are that the dorms are really hot at night (but that's Hawaii, eh?!) and I stumbled upon some bugs in the kitchen but nothing serious. Overall a great place to stay at!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dukesgr783wg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Dukes
Mahalo for your kind words and rating of "A" class. We are happy you enjoyed your visit and hope you will visit us again...it's great to have great guests!
A Hui Hoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
There are newer reviews for Northshore Hostel Maui
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 440 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

From what I understand, there are pretty much only 2 hostels in Maui. We had our own rental car, which I would recommend to everyone visiting Maui, and Wailuku was a very convenient location for us to do day trips from.

We had just showed up at the Northshote Hostel with no reservation and ended up staying for our entire 4 nights in Maui. It was fairly hot in our dorm room, but we enjoyed the friendly atmosphere at the hostel and loved the common area and kitchen.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perfectday248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thanks Vancouver, we are happy to have hosted your stay, happy trails!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 6 nights in a private room. Room was smaller than I imagined from the website pics, but recently renovated and tastefully decorated. And clean. Bathrooms are all private. No stall bathrooms and each has a shower. Breakfast pancakes and coffee are do it yourself with supplies provided. Common areas are cleaned every day. Entrance is down the side of the building, a bit unexpected when I was arriving. Close to 2 bus routes. Buses run hourly near hostel. I didn't find a grocery store within walking distance, but when I was exploring by bus, I stopped for groceries at the safeway. Felt safe and comfOrtable.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earthy_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Mahalo Earthy Feet, I am happy you found you're way around and that you chose us as your Maui hotel...Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

i have had a good time in the hostel. the staff was friendly, nice and helpfull. the bathrooms were always clean. we had free wifi and a computer station for free. that's not in all hostels in hawaii. the bus shuttle could be better. it was ritten that all day is a shuttle to the airport and kanaha beach. but when nowbody arrived on the airport was no shuttle driven to the beach or airport.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venus198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thanks Venus, we offer 4 daily free shuttles but you must call us from the airport when you arrive...Thank you for staying with us...happy trails!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Good quiet location, courteous and knowledgeable staff, community computer, towel rentals, safe and luggage storage, laundry facility, kitchen facilities, piles of board games and even ice cream bars for sale; seems there's nothing these guys have forgotten. Added bonus for me was the schmoozy neighborhood cats. I'd definitely stay here again - you cannot beat the cost, cleanliness, location, and kind of down home comfort of the place. Very relaxed home away from home...

Room Tip: If you want more privacy, rent one of the private rooms for only about $10 more per night. The dorm...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Mahalo Shirley, we couldn't say it any better....thanks for your kind words and we hope you do return and stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great place well center to go everywhere in the Island (when you have a car). The bed was comfortable and clean, same for the bathrooms. we enjoy our stay there for the 10 days. Appreciated the none smoker area.

Room Tip: No pool and fitness center
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Merci Lucie
You guys were great and I got to practice my French too...we welcome you back anytime...thanks for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The taxi driver picking me up from the airport tried to talk me out of staying here, which was rather disconcerting as the reviews I'd read prior to booking were all good.
I was impressed with the Northshore. It was clean, quiet, private, secure and very well run. Also it was very close to the bus stops, and close to enough different food outlets for choice for all tastes.
The staff were friendly and helpful, and although the free pancakes for breakfast were not gluten free, it is a nice option, and there's always next door at the Bakehouse deli for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryCT_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Mary,
Thanks for ignoring the taxi driver! We were very happy to have you as our guest, Thanks for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
2.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,067 reviews
2.0 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
542 reviews
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,145 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Tiki Beach Hostel
The Tiki Beach Hostel
#33 of 43 in Lahaina
63 reviews
12.6 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northshore Hostel Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northshore Hostel Maui

Address: 2080 W Vineyard St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-5614
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Wailuku
Price Range: $83 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and E Komo Mai! The Northshore Hostel Maui is an ideal location to explore our tropical paradise. Spend your entire holiday with us or just one night! Our rates are the lowest on Maui and we strive to offer impeccable customer service to guests of all ages. We are located in downtown Wailuku, in the foothills of the West Maui Mountains, only 5 miles (10K) from the airport. We offer free airport transfers for our guests. Our facility is clean, safe, secure and friendly. A hostel is a great way to meet new people and save your hard earned money! You will find it easy to relax and feel comfortable and enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you soon. A hui hoa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Northshore Hostel Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northshore Maui Hotel Wailuku
Northshore Hostel Maui Wailuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing