We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people who do lots to help us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northshore Hostel Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great place well center to go everywhere in the Island (when you have a car). The bed was comfortable and clean, same for the bathrooms. we enjoy our stay there for the 10 days. Appreciated the none smoker area.

Room Tip: No pool and fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Merci Lucie
You guys were great and I got to practice my French too...we welcome you back anytime...thanks for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 450 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

The taxi driver picking me up from the airport tried to talk me out of staying here, which was rather disconcerting as the reviews I'd read prior to booking were all good.
I was impressed with the Northshore. It was clean, quiet, private, secure and very well run. Also it was very close to the bus stops, and close to enough different food outlets for choice for all tastes.
The staff were friendly and helpful, and although the free pancakes for breakfast were not gluten free, it is a nice option, and there's always next door at the Bakehouse deli for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryCT_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Mary,
Thanks for ignoring the taxi driver! We were very happy to have you as our guest, Thanks for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I wish I could have stayed more days ! I didn't realize how cool this place was , until I stayed at another town in a hostel with ZERO privacy ! North shore has private bathrooms/showers, way better than common shower area . Plus the guys are so cool about picking up from airport, and holding luggage if needed when you're in between towns for a good price . The only downside to this place -it's the location( nothing going on in wailuku). But the hostel itself is good deal

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thanks Caroline, we're glad you enjoyed your visit
A Hui Hoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Not so many hostel on Maui so the choice is limited but in the end probably the best hostel I've stayed in during my trip!
Very friendly staff, airport shuttle, free morning pancakes and clean rooms and bathrooms... What can we ask more?
Definitively a great adress!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Punkaharju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Punkharju,
Mahalo for your kind review, we are working hard to be the best...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were at the Norhshore Maui Hostel for only a night in august 2012. It's a very well organized hostel, with helpful, kindly and prepared staff, always ready to give maximum support to the guests. The rooms were clean, very nice, and so the bathrooms and all shared areas. The kitchen is fine and people maintain it clean and orderly. A very pity to have stayed there only a night...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Mahalo for your visit, arrivederci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed at North Shore Hostel for 1 week in August 2012 & what a little delight it is!!! Well run & maintained, very clean dorms & common area, friendly & helpful staff, in fact everything a hostel should be & nothing it shouldnt be!!!!!
The only slight down point is its position in relation to other areas of interest but dont let that put you off as a hire car kills that little glitch immediately & is needed in any event on Maui.
Previous comments about friendliness are unfounded in my experience. You must give warmth to recieve warmth & this hostel has such warmth amongst its guests both long & short term if you make the effort to engage.
If you want a party hostel however this is not for you!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank united01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for your kind words and accurate review, it was a pleasure to welcome you to Maui...a hui hoa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I stayed here for a few nights and all the staff were helpful and friendly! The whole hostel was clean and well organized. The rooms were great and the bathrooms were clean! The kitchen was shared which was fine and people were very good about cleaning up etc! The location is pretty good with a wonderful Thai restaurant and a small grocery store all within walking distance. Overall my stay was fabulous, I would definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobbesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Manager at Northshore Hostel Maui, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thanks very much. We are perhaps the cleanest hostel on the planet. We attempt to live up to our motto: "High Standards, Low Rates"
Mahalo for staying with us and A Hui Hoa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
2.0 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
554 reviews
2.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,084 reviews
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,216 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Tiki Beach Hostel
The Tiki Beach Hostel
#31 of 43 in Lahaina
66 reviews
12.6 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northshore Hostel Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northshore Hostel Maui

Address: 2080 W Vineyard St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-5614
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Wailuku
Price Range: $49 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and E Komo Mai! The Northshore Hostel Maui is an ideal location to explore our tropical paradise. Spend your entire holiday with us or just one night! Our rates are the lowest on Maui and we strive to offer impeccable customer service to guests of all ages. We are located in downtown Wailuku, in the foothills of the West Maui Mountains, only 5 miles (10K) from the airport. We offer free airport transfers for our guests. Our facility is clean, safe, secure and friendly. A hostel is a great way to meet new people and save your hard earned money! You will find it easy to relax and feel comfortable and enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you soon. A hui hoa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Northshore Hostel Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northshore Maui Hotel Wailuku
Northshore Hostel Maui Wailuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing