We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

“Chickens! Chickens Everywhere!”

Iao Valley State Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$179.00*
and up
Hawaiian Wildlife Discovery Tour
Ranked #3 of 47 things to do in Wailuku
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Iao Valley State Monument, Maui, will remain closed indefinitely due to extensive damage from heavy rain and flooding the night of September 13 and early morning on September 14, 2016.
Terrace, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Chickens! Chickens Everywhere!”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Okay there were a few chickens at the entrance.. they are all over Maui. I LOVE IT! wild chickens galore. This place was very scenic and I'm glad we took the short drive and paid the nominal fee to go and explore. It was rainy when I went but it made for some ominous photos. It was one of the highlights of my trip to Maui since I missed out on the end of the Road to Hana (weather sucked) ... So I'm glad this was close to access and so, so beautiful. They just have port a potties, as bathroom facilities.. Doesn't bother me at all, same with the Garden of Eden in Maui.. But if you're some sort of person who needs full on 1st class bathroom facilities, you have been warned. lol

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank parrotchick07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    586
    220
    30
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seabrook, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Easy, short walk, but worth the time.”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Iao Needle Valley was our last stop before going to the airport to go home. It is a gorgeous valley covered in dense rainforest. There is a short hike (about half a mile) to the viewing area to see the needle. The path is paved and fairly easy to navigate, but the last bit to the viewing area is about 100 stairs up to the top. Along the way to the stairs, you cross over Iao Stream. Its a great way to spend an hour or so.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
190 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A beautiful part of Maui!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We took a tour to the IAO Valley! Absolutely beautiful part of the Island. Th e state park is lovely with many walking paths!we hiked up to the needle about 2200 ft up. From there we could see the mountains and the ocean below. Gorgeous! We really like the tour guide!He knew a lot about the ancestors of Hawaii and the burial grounds nearby!The monuments were exceptional!very interesting stories about the wars in the early years of the Islands of Hawaii!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful park with easy access”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This state park is a beautiful place to stop with paved hiking paths. Short drive from Wailuku results in very scenic location. Should be stop for everyone who comes to Maui. Lot of history and interesting area that shows how small farming was done.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
178 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Gr8 for spending the afternoon”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

East paved hike. You can swim if you jump the trail and get to the stream. Also there is a hiking trail for the brave. Just outside the park is a place to see who came to Hawaii and their monuments. You can picnic and bbq. nice quiet place to hangout in the cool shade.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iao Valley State Monument also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Iao Valley State Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing