We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Beautiful Quick Trip in West Maui”

Iao Valley State Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$179.00*
and up
Hawaiian Wildlife Discovery Tour
Ranked #3 of 47 things to do in Wailuku
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Iao Valley State Monument, Maui, will remain closed indefinitely due to extensive damage from heavy rain and flooding the night of September 13 and early morning on September 14, 2016.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Quick Trip in West Maui”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We visited Iao Valley State Park this afternoon and although it was raining we were glad to see what the Western part of Maui was like.

The experience is a quick one. You literally park, have about half an hour worth of walking and picture taking. Nothing strenuous at all. There were stairs everywhere. If you walk up you'll get views of the Needle and the valley. If you walk lower you'll be right next to the stream. Make sure you have memory on your cameras cause the landscape is stunning. It felt like were in Jurassic Park.

We couldn't see the top of the Iao Valley Needle cause it was so foggy but didn't feel like we were missing out on too much.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rjl3045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    702
    587
    221
    30
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mountains, not so great hike”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I was expecting a good 1 hour scenic hike, but no, it is barely 30 minutes on a paved road, not so much to see other than mountains and a nice view of the valley. I called this the FAKE HIKE park.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Love_Chocolate_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
244 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Amazing views, small park”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Iao Valley is a beautiful park. It's only $5/car to get in, which is a bargain... the park is small and easily seen in a few hours; folks bring in picnics and (ignore the signs to) sit on the rocks near the stream that flows through it.

There are pretty views around every bend, and if you're adventurous, a 133 step climb to the highest point. There are stairs throughout the park, so strollers or wheelchairs will be limited in where they can go.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marymcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice change of pace from the beach”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is an excellent afternoon activity when the wind picks up at the beach. Only $5 to park. Really take note of the unique vegetation, including avocado trees and birds of paradise. Wear good walking shoes and take a water bottle. We went swimming in the natural pools. Story Family

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
433 reviews
259 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Iao Needle - the 2250-ft high phallic stone of the god Kanaloa”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was one of the stops during our one-day bus tour of Maui. The scenery was pretty, but Iao State Park probably won't make my 'must return here' list. It didn't help that it was a rainy day when we went. There is a lot of heavy vegetation and a strong rushing stream. Iao Needle itself is not very spectacular, but when I read (from one of the park signs) that it is known as the phallic stone of Kanaloa, the Hawaiian god of the ocean, that just made my day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roobydoo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iao Valley State Monument also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Iao Valley State Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing