We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

“Get off the beaten path”

Iao Valley State Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$179.00*
and up
Hawaiian Wildlife Discovery Tour
Ranked #3 of 47 things to do in Wailuku
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Iao Valley State Monument, Maui, will remain closed indefinitely due to extensive damage from heavy rain and flooding the night of September 13 and early morning on September 14, 2016.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Get off the beaten path”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I was pretty excited to see this park - overall it was a little disappointing. The path is very short. I was expecting a much longer hike and a lot more to see. However, as recommended by our kayak guide, if you duck under the bars at the top of the stairs there is a little dirt path that goes up to a waterfall - very pretty. Takes about 45 min. Be careful if it is raining because it will be slippery and is not monitored. Otherwise I don't think this is worth a long drive, unless you are close by I would skip it. There were some local kids harvesting taro from the pools down below which was neat I guess.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank prairiegirl306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    586
    220
    30
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful but not much hiking. ”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We read about this place, which is close to the airport, and all about the great hiking. When you get there you have to pay $5 to park, cash or credit at a kiosk. Don't ignore it, I guess the parking ticket is $100. We started our hike on the marked trail expecting an hour at least. We were done with all of it in 15 minutes. Great views.

Helpful?
1 Thank bktripad
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
233 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Pretty, but small, and can get very crowded”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a pleasant little park, which you can do in a half hour or less. Cruise ship passengers often arrive here is swarms, though, so be prepared for a nose-to-tail walk in the park if you arrive when they do. The closest cruise line port, Kahului, is frequented only Sunday and Monday, so perhaps going another day will spare you.

I do not think it is worth your time to drive a great distance to get to the park, but if you are looking for something to do, which is pleasant to look at, perhaps this will do it for you.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OttoSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice hike & scenery”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Iao Valley is an excellent sight to see. The park has paved trails to many of the popular view points. The park does charge for parking (I think it was around $5) and its a popular spot for tour buses to stop in. If you time it right and go early it's awesome!

Helpful?
Thank MauiDude82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Idaho
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

liked it all, nice place to sit & take it all in, easy walk up to the view point, very pretty with the stream.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank awalls2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iao Valley State Monument also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Iao Valley State Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing