We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

“Beautiful but quick” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iao Valley State Monument

Iao Valley State Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$179.00*
and up
Mauka to Makai Eco Adventure Tour In Maui
Ranked #3 of 46 things to do in Wailuku
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Iao Valley State Monument, Maui, will remain closed indefinitely due to extensive damage from heavy rain and flooding the night of September 13 and early morning on September 14, 2016.
Lahaina, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful but quick”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Amazing place. Wish it had an actual "hike" rather than just a little path with some stairs. Definitely something to see, though. Don't plan a day around it, but check it out for 45 minutes when you're on that side of the island.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    696
    585
    220
    29
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“one of the nice parts in Maui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Iao valley was so much better than expected. It was short drive of 30 min from Wailea. There were ample amount of parking spaces. Only $5 entrance fee for visitors (locals free). Great scenaries, nice hiking path along the fresh water stream which was clean to bathe or just put feet in to relax and chill out. Highly recommend it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chookgoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson,NH
Level Contributor
259 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“It was a steep climb”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We tried to hike to the top of the Iao Needle, but the trek was so steep that I was afraid I would fall of the side of the cliff. Needless to say we didn't make it but got close.
We hike all the time and have climbed Mt. Mansfield in VT and I have to tell you I found this dangerous.
I also didn't find that much to do there. We tried to go into the woods but with wild pigs on the run we decided we better not continue our hike.
My suggestion is that you shouldn't hike in an area that you are not familiar with. You never know what's in the woods.
I

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
376 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery and interesting history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

This site of Kamehameha's historic victory over the warriors of Maui is visually gorgeous, with several bucolic streams surrounded by steep mountain walls. It's always an enjoyable stop and we were glad to intoduce it to friends and family on our most recent visit to Maui. The many vistas of Maui are amazing, from this stunning valley, to the pristine sandy beaches, the rain forests along the Road to Hana, vast farm and ranchland of Upcountry and the stark landscape of Haleakala. Something for everyone, to be sure.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonJohn97338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Very nice park. It would have been nice if they had more hiking trails, but it was a great thing to do as a short stop in between other things.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank happycathdetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iao Valley State Monument also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Iao Valley State Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing