We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Gardens of Maui

Tropical Gardens of Maui
Ranked #21 of 44 things to do in Wailuku
Attraction details
Alamosa, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Over priced!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice to visit if you have nothing else to do in Maui. Don't take the train tour, it's overpriced and you can see the same things if you walk the grounds.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Esm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Worth stopping on the way to Iao Needle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were disappointed with Kula Botanical Gardens, but wanted to see more tropical flora before we left Maui. For $5, this was a great stop. The signage is pretty good, and the path easy to follow. There was a great variety of plants, but do use bug spray before you go "into the wild" or you will end up with a lot of bites! I would go here again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodyMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“hawii hay ride”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

spots are pretty. dated,overpriced some good floua/fanua. but is not consistent.bathrooms,food available.gift shop overpriced. most of staff was friendly. plenty of parking

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rolsto314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL TROPICAL GARDENS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had lunch here then took the train around the property. Very enjoyable! There is also a zipline here that looked like a lot of fun.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank JBE12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Flowers but Buggy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This garden is also a nursery for the island so there are many hybrid flowers throughout the garden. It is a great place to photograph so many the beautiful flowers. I really liked all the orchids tucked into the trees. The one drawback to visiting the garden was the over abundance of mosquitos. My husband and I used a liberal about of bug repelent before we went but still came out with our legs covered with bites.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam_n_Janet_Evening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropical Gardens of Maui also viewed

 

Been to Tropical Gardens of Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing