We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'm so glad we took the time to visit this gem of a museum”

Hale Ho'ike'ike at the Bailey House
Book In Advance
More Info
$148.96*
and up
Maui Value Pass
Ranked #15 of 46 things to do in Wailuku
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Hale Hoʻikeʻike is a history museum which showcases the largest collection of Hawaiian Antiquities on Maui. Located on the site of Kahekili's Royal Residence, Hale Hoʻikeʻike houses artifacts from Hawaii's pre-western contact era, missionary era, Monarchy era, and plantation era. Situated just on the way to Iao Valley State Park it is a stop you will not want to miss.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“I'm so glad we took the time to visit this gem of a museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We combined this visit with Iao Valley and it was perfect. A small museum but packed with a lot of history if you get the right person to discuss the home and family with. We did and it was great. Especially if you have kids on your trip - take them here for an hour - it is true history.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patty_in_Cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    53
    21
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
427 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Charming spot to see a bit of old Hawaii”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We enjoyed an hour here on our way back from the Iao Needle / Park. Small but a lot of historical info on the old Hawaiian culture. We had seen the Ulelena show (awesome!) earlier and much of this museum had connections to that story. Allow about an hour. It is $5 for seniors and I think they are closed Sundays.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CyndeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
198 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not so much a House Museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

It had interesting information about early Hawaiian life and religion, but not much about the family who once lived there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LauraLazewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Combine with Iao Valley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Beautiful old home in a lovely setting. Small but well done exhibits showcasing local culture and history.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrRicOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A look back at early Maui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Not only is the structure from a bygone era, there are displays throughout the rooms of furniture, apparel, utensils, pictures, and you can "see" what Maui was built on years ago. It is a peaceful setting, too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hale Ho'ike'ike at the Bailey House also viewed

 

Been to Hale Ho'ike'ike at the Bailey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing