We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

“Another great little surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kepaniwai Park & Heritage Gardens

Kepaniwai Park & Heritage Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$179.00*
and up
Mauka to Makai Eco Adventure Tour In Maui
Ranked #19 of 46 things to do in Wailuku
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Iao Valley State Monument, Maui, will remain closed indefinitely due to extensive damage from heavy rain and flooding the night of September 13 and early morning on September 14, 2016.
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
227 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Another great little surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This park is a little odd. I didn't know what to expect at first. There are a number of monuments to various people who've settled in Hawaii. It was a little odd to see the Puerto Rico Monument next to a Japanese stone garden. But, then I saw the Peace Pole and realized it was basically a Peace Park. Lots of great monuments to commemorate the various ethnicities that make up Hawaii. There is also stream access here to the same stream that comes down from Iao Valley. Worth a 30 minutes top after seeing Iao Valley State Park.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TammyS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a free attraction, and a wonderful picnic spot. The Gardens is a series of memorials dedicated to the various peoples that migrated to Maui, mostly to work in the sugar cane fields. Japanese, Chinese, Korean, Portuguese - all are represented. The gardens are very beautiful. I spent a couple of hours here enjoying the serenity and the beauty. Well worth a special trip to see.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kiwihugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
863 reviews
579 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 824 helpful votes
“Good Spot for a Picnic Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

After spending the morning at Iao Needle State Monument, we drove down the mountain and stopped at Kepaniwai Heritage Gardens. The park has several different garden areas for various Asian cultures -- a reminder of the diversity of people who have immigrated to the islands over hundreds of years. We enjoyed strolling through each garden. A covered picnic pavillion was a nice surprise for our lunch.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank RetiredTravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
248 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Beautiful but rundown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Another landmark taken for granted. The aina is going downhill,No pun intended! Each garden is beautifully culturally depicted but the park is so trashed and that is a shame! Visitors and locals alike so do their part in respecting the aina. There is no excuse!

Helpful?
1 Thank intheraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley ID
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We love going to see the flora and fauna of exotic places - there are many around Maui to see, and they all have something different. One place even had an allspice tree! That was something we had never seen before.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindyhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kepaniwai Park & Heritage Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Kepaniwai Park & Heritage Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing