We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would sleep on the street than go back to this pit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
A TripAdvisor Member
USA
113
Reviewed September 22, 2005

Did that grab your attention? Good. Let me tell you why to avoid this pit at all costs. I decided to go to Maui over summer as a treat to myself for getting through year one of college and when I initally found Banana Bungalow I was very happy. Supposedly I would be getting a decent hostel at a great price that offer free tours and activites of the island. When I arrived on Maui I found that this was not the case. I walked into the hostel and was immeadiately put off by the less than stellar condition of the building and the surrounding neighborhood and my unease grew when the young ( and scantily clad) lady had trouble checking me in due to the facts that someone had forgotten to write down my reservation and that she couldn't count the number of days in July and August. I finally get my key and set off to find my room. I signed up for a dorm room and to my surprise, when I open the door- the room is not only a pit but a pit infested with males. Pyramids of beer, dirty underwear hanging from doornobs, and various trash was littered about. I set my bag on the only free bed, a top bunk, and set off for the bathroom to wash my hands( the room was that distrubing). The bathroom is less than desireable- the tiles are gone in the shower and the toilet is barely functional- I quickly retreat to my room. I find one of the males and quickly inquire if he or another might be willing to switch beds with me so I might get the bottem (my left leg had recently been severly injured and there was no way I could get up what they playfully called a ladder) and he rudely informed me that 'no, he liked his bed and so did the other male'. I left the room and a staff member told me that there were hammocks outside that I might avail myself of, so I set off to find them. While I was outside, I not only found a large group of people 'getting to know one another' in the hot tub but several individuals doing some 'recreational drugs'. I turned around gathered my bags and found another hotel for the night. I went back to the hotel the next morning and asked for a refund since I spent less than an hour at the hostel - they told me no. They very snidely told me that they were a party hostel and there were a lot more hostels that were worse than them. They didn't refund a single cent, $400 dollars gone. I changed my plane ticket to leave as soon as possible and found another hotel for the duration of my remaining time. Though Maui itself was beautiful and the beaches lovely I will always be soured towards the island. So to be perfectly frank, DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOSTEL!!!!! YOU WILL REGRET IT TO THE DAY YOU DIE!!!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 513 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2005

Hawaii is beautiful. This place was a dump. Next time, save our money and stay in a nice hotel. Pay cheap, get cheap. In a horrible part of town as well. Place smelled like dirty water and filthy underwear.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Nashville, TN
110
Reviewed May 27, 2005

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Antonio, TX
120
Reviewed April 28, 2005

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2005

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Viking-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
West Lafayette, IN
212
Reviewed March 21, 2005

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2004

7  Thank TRAVELBUG014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
2.0 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
549 reviews
2.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,074 reviews
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Northshore Hostel Maui
Northshore Hostel Maui
#1 of 9 in Wailuku
442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

Address: 310 N Market St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-1159
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Wailuku
Price Range: $84 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel caters to backpackers, travelers and surfers wanting to get the best out of Maui,and the best value for their money. Your stay comes with a friendly atmosphere, camaraderie, and friendships that last a lifetime. We offer more free amenities than any other hostel in Hawaii, probably the world. We offer FREE TOURS of MAUI EVERY DAY!: 12-Mile Haleakala Volcano Hike, The Road to Hana, Iao Valley Rainforest Hike, Whale Watching (seasonal), Snorkel with Turtles, Historic Lahaina and Paia Towns, Beaches, Beaches, Beaches!Large Tropical Garden with 7-Person Jacuzzi, Large Shared Kitchen, Free Wi-Fi, Free Internet Computer, Free pancake breakfast, Free keg parties every Friday night! "BACKPACKERS SHOULD HEAD TO BANANA BUNGALOW" - Frommer's 2011, "LIVELY AND COSMOPOLITAN HOSTEL" - Fodor's 2011. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow Maui Hotel Wailuku
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel Wailuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing