We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRIENDLY!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We spent our second week in Hawaii, on the island of Maui where we booked a Bungalow Private Twins (2 single beds)... Thanks God!
To start with, every spots were clean; bathroom, bedroom, kitchen, lounge. I think the reason is quite simple. People that work there are also people that live there so they don't want to live in a dirty hostel since they stay for at least a month. Second, these employees are so friendly and comprehensive.
They offer free tours as you might have read in every single post... Worth it definitely. If you don't wanna give a 10-20$ tip for something that would be worth normally between 50$ and 150$, rent a car and try to do it yourself :).
I can say I made over 10 friends by staying there for a week. Don't be shy and share laughs with people in the lounge at night time!
We made BBQ, group dinners a couple time; you have everything you need in the Kitchen to cook.
Only negative point is the location of the hostel... No interesting supermarket within 30 minutes walk. THOUGH... As I say, have fun, make friends and you will realize that some of your friends have a car... Split the fuel and everything is all set!
Loved it.

Room Tip: Try to have a room with a window that is not right across N Market St, it will be more quieter that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 514 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Banana Bungalow fell short in comparison to other hostels I’ve stayed at internationally and in the USA.

- The staff are basically international travelers that have stayed at the hostel for so long that they've been adopted as "staff". There are ZERO locals from Maui working at Banana Bungalow.

- Rooms and bathrooms are not cleaned well.

- The advertised "Pancake Breakfast" is literally a bag of pancake mix and syrup. Banana Bungalow asks their guests to "make it your self".

- Filthy kitchen! Fridges aren’t cleaned regularly and there are puddles of questionable liquid in the fridges.

- The “staff” guides “Free Tours” and you're expected to tip $20+ USD. Signing up for the tour is first come, first serve... If you can afford it, RENT A CAR.

- Quiet time starts at 10pm and is strictly enforced. Almost everything is shut down! If you have beer or food in the fridge in the kitchen, you have to grab it before 10pm.


* The positives of my experience at Banana Bungalow are that they have a cool common area and that I meet many awesome travelers. However, for the money this place was a bit of a rip-off!

Room Tip: Room 15 is okay and has 1 queen size bed. Poor quality mattress, pillows, and linens. Good for 2 but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I met so many people, including the staff were all very cool. if you come with an open mind and participate in the tours you will also meet like minded individuals , and have a blast of a good time. It is not perfectly located on the beach ,but it is centrally located and easy to get around rent a moped , take a bus , or even pitch in on a car . There is lots to explore and my favorite tour was road to Hana but there all good .

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willdog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Much has already been written about the excellent tours (they are) and the terrible location (it is) but the biggest problem with this hostel is the staff. There are too many of them, they all perform a fraction of a job and spend the rest of their time loitering around the hostel. This leads to a bigger problem as they appear to be under the impression that they are the guests. They will regularly use the guest facilities at the expense of the guest. On one occasion a member of staff had the audacity to tell a couple of guests to not play pool as it may wake up some staff. Putting the guest first is not high on the Banana Bungalow's agenda.
You could quite easily cut over half the 'workforce', increase guest bed numbers and reduce the rates as a result. Then you would go some way to start making this a better hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Boardman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

i stayed at the bungalow 10 days and all in all, loved it. i mean the tours are REALLY worth it. what a fun and cheap way to go out there and discover Maui. yu just hop in a big comfy bus with good music, stop at the grocery store to grab some food, and you're on your way to an awesome day with a bunch of happy smiley strangers. it was epic, i feel very grateful, met some great friends and we ended up doing all the tours together.
hostel is great in general as for rooms, it's clean, it's bright and tropical looking, the staff is super cool.
but the location sucks big time, the tours are really the reason for beeing there. you're stuck in an almost ghetto lookin part of nowhere haha, no bars, no beach nothing.

so obviously at night, everyone just hangs out and gets waisted ... it gets loud and super crowded, i personally found it a bit overwhelming.
still tho, a great place, i managed to do my own thing and had a great time :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I stay here for Mode than a Month. Since the Day i arrived i felt very comfortable and welcome. I can strongly recommend it. You meet so many people and make the daily free tours together, what is so much fun. Thanks for this great experience

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The staff here make all the difference in the world and they are some of the best, kindest, most knowledgable, and most helpful people you will ever meet. The hostel itself is nice, but the staff make all of the difference, they make you feel so at home and make your stay so special that you will actually miss them when you leave (as I did).

The free tours offered everyday are an unbeatable bargain (especially for Hawaii) and go to ALL the top sights and attractions on Maui (all the same awesome places that Lonely Planet recommends). The staff members that guide you on these free tours are knowledgable, fun, friendly, and hillarious! You will love them because they are simply lovable, and there to make your tours and experiences there the best that they can possibly be.

The hostel isn't really near any attractions (which is why they offer the amazing free tours) but everyone staying there goes on the free tours together everyday, so you truly get to know each other and forge true lasting friendships instead of just meeting random people in passing.

It's actually difficult to put into words how much fun you will have hanging out and getting to know like minded people from all over the world, if you are an antisocial loner then maybe a hotel is a wiser choice for you, but if you are a backpacker and want to truly experience Maui with a great group of people, then this is the ONLY choice! In terms of fun it stands out high above the rest!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
2.0 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
554 reviews
2.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,084 reviews
12.5 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Northshore Hostel Maui
Northshore Hostel Maui
#1 of 9 in Wailuku
450 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Tiki Beach Hostel
The Tiki Beach Hostel
#30 of 43 in Lahaina
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

Address: 310 N Market St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-1159
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Wailuku
Price Range: $85 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel caters to backpackers, travelers and surfers wanting to get the best out of Maui,and the best value for their money. Your stay comes with a friendly atmosphere, camaraderie, and friendships that last a lifetime. We offer more free amenities than any other hostel in Hawaii, probably the world. We offer FREE TOURS of MAUI EVERY DAY!: 12-Mile Haleakala Volcano Hike, The Road to Hana, Iao Valley Rainforest Hike, Whale Watching (seasonal), Snorkel with Turtles, Historic Lahaina and Paia Towns, Beaches, Beaches, Beaches!Large Tropical Garden with 7-Person Jacuzzi, Large Shared Kitchen, Free Wi-Fi, Free Internet Computer, Free pancake breakfast, Free keg parties every Friday night! "BACKPACKERS SHOULD HEAD TO BANANA BUNGALOW" - Frommer's 2011, "LIVELY AND COSMOPOLITAN HOSTEL" - Fodor's 2011. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow Maui Hotel Wailuku
Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel Wailuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing