We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best ribs on Maui” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seascape Ma'alaea Restaurant

Seascape Ma'alaea Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 93 Restaurants in Wailuku
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian, Pacific Rim, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Conveniently located in Central Maui, Seascape Ma'alaea Restaurant is a favorite among Kama'aina and visitors alike. Our award-winning restaurant offers an enticing menu of island-inspired cuisine along with spectacular views of Ma'alaea Harbor. It's the perfect dining destination to relax with a refreshing Cucumber Watermelon-rita while watching for Humpback whales or surfers, depending on what season we're in! Locally grown ingredients bring out the best of Maui flavors. Mouthwatering 100% wild caught blue crab cakes and the chef's creatively prepared fresh catch of the day are just a few dishes on the diverse, sustainable seafood-friendly menu. Kids' menu and gluten free or vegetarian options are also available. There are two convenient entrances, one inside the Aquarium and the other near the Ma'alaea Harbor Shops. Now serving dinner Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays. Aquarium admission is not required to dine.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best ribs on Maui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We only went to Seascape after a friend of ours recommended it. You have to go for lunch as they are only open from11.00 am until 2.30 pm. My wife had the macadamia crusted fish and I opted for the mango glazed ribs. The ribs fell off of the bone and the glaze was the best I have ever had. You will not be disappointed, the only drawback are the unruly screaming kids that have parents with no regard for the other diners. A view overlooking the harbour is little consolation for having to eat while being unable to have a conversation with your lunch companion due to the "little darlings"

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    64
    19
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great view and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We had a late lunch here after touring the Maui Ocean Center. Honestly, we weren't expecting much from a restaurant attached to the aquarium. However, we were pleasantly surprised. Although the meals are not large, they were nicely prepared and very tasty. We had the ribs, macadamia crusted fish and a special Ahi/garlic shrimp dish. Their strawberry smoothie was large and flavorful. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive. The covered outdoor seating is basic, but there is a nice view of the harbor, the East side of Maui, Molakini, etc.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pw9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dessert is the way to go!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

The only reason we stopped in is because our kids were hungry and the burger joint down the stairs weren't going to take orders for another 15 mins as breakfast had just ended - for those with kids know, there's no waiting with kids when they're hungry. We say down and the view is beautiful - water on one side and a fish tank on the other. Both kids were happy. We ordered the kids cheeseburger and fish n chips. Both were made well. I ordered the ceasar with chicken (which tasted like it should) and my husband had the seascape cobb which was nice as well - nothing special to rave about. Now we come to dessert. I asked our server, Zach (one of the nicest servers I've had the pleasure of serving us in a while), if he could describe what the Mud Pie was like and he had me with just a few words! And was he ever right! If you ever go to the Keg and have the Billie Miner Pie, you should give this one a try. You will LOVE it!!! When I go back to the Maui Ocean Center this week, I will definately go back just for the pie!

Helpful?
Thank Sabrina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stopped in for lunch on a rainy day, when the Maui Ocean Center was really busy. I don't know if they have the ability to adjust staffing for busy days, but they should! We were not the only ones ignored for long periods of time. After finally receiving our food (which was fine, but not terrific), we waited long after our meals were finished for the check. No refills on water were offered, and once the food was on the table we didn't get any further attention from the server.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lb783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
197 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good food with a great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I'll be honest - the only reason we decided to eat here was because of the photos of meals that the Maui Ocean Center was posting on Facebook. Thankfully, Seascape did not let us down, as the food was terrific. It was nice to be able to do the aquarium and then go right into lunch at Seascape. We always do the aquarium while in Maui, and will probably continue to go to Seascape afterwards.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NTP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seascape Ma'alaea Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Seascape Ma'alaea Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing