We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Kojima's Sushi Bar and Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Pukalani
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is a new authentic Japanese Restaurant that opened up in Maui, HI in June of 2012.
Pukalani, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We enjoy the simple menu and daily specials. Prices are reasonable and service was great. The sushi is really good and the other menu items were just as good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ylynner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Melts in your mouth!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Simple, uncomplicated, unembellished and legit. A relatively small menu without pages and pages of fancy rolls, but not so boring they only offer standard nigiri. We were a little apprehensive when we first pulled up, but I was nauseated from hunger and we decided to give it a try. We ordered a roll to start (I think it was called Red Dragon), and when it came before us we just knew it was the real deal.

Service was unbelievely quick - from what I've now read, that may be because we arrived early for dinner, before it gets packed.

The coke they gave us was expired (coke expires?) but aside from that a wicked meal. My rating is for the sushi.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank solaridium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso, New Mexico, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful find”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Found this place on Tripadvisor as we were going to Pukalani for the afternoon and were delighted to get wonderful food and service. The space and furnishing were very ho hum but serviceable....the food made up for it. Will definitely make a point to eat here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Number 1”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We went here based on some of the reviews and our love of sushi. We were not disappointed. The owner/chef has extensive credentials form various large hotels in Chicago and New York and has owned his own business for many years. This wouldn't be important except that the sushi here was outstanding. So good, in fact, we came back a second time and we were staying near Kapalua.

The nigiri was super fresh and melted in your mouth. The rolls were also excellent and well put together. They have a variety of plate specials for lunch and dinner but we didn't try those as we wanted the sushi. If you are in the Pukalani area, or not, don't miss Kojima's.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Macomfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Sushi on Maui”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a small unpretentious place with the best sushi I have had in years. Bring your own bottle and order away. The sushi rolls were so good, I had to order another one after we "finished'. At the time my husband and I visited, the restaurant had only Japanese diners. If you like good sushi, this place is for you. Even if you are staying on the other side of the island, it will be worth your while to make the trip upcountry.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uncoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kojima's Sushi Bar and Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Kojima's Sushi Bar and Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing