We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Paia
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Maui Mountain Cruisers
from $79.95
More Info
from $124.00
More Info
from $71.95
More Info
from $102.00
More Info
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveler rating
159
39
22
25
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
159
39
22
25
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bike ride sunrise tour amazing sunrise national park the sun rise these guys downhill ride top priority nice ride fun trip once in a lifetime safety briefing an adventure our honeymoon felt safe miles van
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great driver/guide up. Very knowledgeable. Highly recommend NOT having a guide down. The 26 miles goes fast. You’ll be done by 10:30. They need to update the bikes. Bad shape. And the helmets stink soooooo bad!!

Date of experience: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank jasonrJ8801UD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020

From their website:

Maui Mountain Cruisers is now
A highlight for most visitors to Maui—if not all of Hawaii—is experiencing a guided bike tour down Maui’s active volcano – Haleakala. Guests can enjoy this experience in an active way. Bike 26 miles (42 km) from the 6,500′ all the way down to the the beach town at Paia. Tour begins with pickup in the early morning from hotels (fee applies) in the Maui resort areas such as Wailea, Kaanapali, and Kapalua for the drive up to our office/base-yard where we will start guests off with a hot or cold beverage and a snack.
From our office, we will transport guests to the 6,500′ level and your tour guide will provide you with the history of Haleakala, its geology, and the rare plants and animals found only on Maui. Watch the predawn colors from this location, and then you’ll be fitted with a bicycle and helmet to start your guided bike ride. Coast downhill, riding along switchbacks, through Haleakala Ranch, and past Kula. Continue through the towns of Makawao and Paia, and finally reach the Pacific coast at Paia Beach town.

1. We scheduled to be picked up and they claimed it would be an additional $100 for the two of us even though their confirmation email said we would be picked up. This happened to another customer. MMC blamed the booking agents, although I booked directly with them.
2. There was no snack or hot beverage provided.
3. Transportation to the biking location was sketchy! The van had low tire pressure and needed an oil change. The driver rode the cars in front of him and passed two vehicles up hill on a windy road, crossing the double yellow. This was even after being told that some of the passengers were prone to carsickness. One passenger got so sick that she could not do the bike ride.
4. The content from the guided tour was only about the Baldwin family coming to Maui to save the natives from the diseases contracted from the white people and that the descendants of the original Baldwin are all broke now.
5. The bikes and helmets were in extremely poor shape. There were not enough helmets to fit properly. Brakes were squishy. One of the bikes we used had a bulging tire and wobbled.
6. We only had a driver. Not two guides. The bike ride down was not guided. This was a self guided tour, even though we paid for the guided tour.

When confronted about these discrepancies, the driver passed the buck to the outside organizations who book the tours, not taking accountability based on their website.

Date of experience: December 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2019

Everything they said was a lie. We were suppose to see the sunrise and the driver told us once we were already at the top that the sun is behind us and we wouldn’t be able to see it. They also didn’t mention that we couldn’t go all the way to the top of the mountain because they didn’t have a license. That would of been nice to know before we booked, payed, and took the time to go up the mountain. Their helmets and jackets that they gave us were not clean and I had an allergic reaction while wearing it.

Once we got the bikes, the only thing I could think about was how old and worn out they looked. Not only did they look old and worn out they were also terrible bikes to ride. There was no gear shift so you couldn’t go very fast at all. Which really mattered when you were falling behind the leader (which happened a lot) and when you were going up hill.

The worst part of all, was that you would tell them what the problem is and they would tell you that they fixed it. Then a second later, the co-workers would turn to each other there and say it was your fault (while you were still in hearing distance). The workers would put on a show to come off as happy and excited for the trip but you could still tell they didn’t want to be there and they would have an attitude when problems arose.

Overall, I would not recommend this company if you are looking for a good bike ride. I rather lay in bed and waste a day on my vacation than to do this ever again.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Tour812044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiMountainCruisers, General Manager at Maui Mountain Cruisers, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2019

Aloha,
I'm sorry you felt that way. We don't go to the top and we do not advertise that we do. There's been many changes on Haleakala due to overcrowding and now they limit how many people can go into the park for sunrise and cost about $100 more per person. I was up there with you all working another group and all I could here was your complaints and I'm sorry. The rest of the bicyclist were having a great time. The Jackets were clean because they are cleaned frequently. The gloves you were handed out were new. The bikes don't have gears because it's all downhill! AND it's not a white knuckle bike ride. We DO NOT encourage anyone to speed down the mountain as you don't want to get hurt on your Maui vacation.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2019

First, safety was the top priority. Didn't take away from the fun but was much appreciated. Second, it can be cold so don't underestimate the layers. It's easy enough to leave some of the layers in the van and pick them up when the trip is over but it's really hard to find additional layers at the (almost) top of a volcano. Third, the equipment is functional - probably not what most folks are used to at home but when cruising downhill, additional speed from a multi-geared bike isn't a priority. Brakes and a solid seating are. And it's not difficult - the unguided tour was just right for us (and it would have been hard to get lost). Enjoy!

Date of experience: December 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank runningwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiMountainCruisers, Manager at Maui Mountain Cruisers, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2019

Awesome! So happy you had fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2019 via mobile

I reviewed Maui Sunrider’s web site and what they said about waiting until a bit later was great advice.

We ended up driving ourselves up to see the sunrise, spent time on the crater and still had more than enough time to get to Maui Sunriders for their ride to the starting point for the bike ride.

Driver did a great job educating us on the way up to the starting point and because we waited until after the sunrise we could see what he was referring to.

The bikes and equipment were good and we had a wonderful time coming down the mountain at our own pace and stopping where and when we wanted to.

Very much recommend doing this type of bike tour down the mountain

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank dansB6835LY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews