We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guides/ride; timing poor with sunrise”

Maui Mountain Cruisers
Ranked #6 of 13 Tours in Paia
Attraction details
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great guides/ride; timing poor with sunrise”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My husband and I did this tour the third week in Jan on advice of our concierge. We had a 2:30 AM pick-up, did some waiting around at one location for no-show travellers (maybe having a confirmation the day before would be helpful?), and got to the park shortly after 5:00 AM. We were told that we needed to be there early to avoid not being allowed entrance but we were literally one of the first vehicles there and ended up standing outside in very cold temperatures for almost two hours before the sun rose. The sun rise was very beautiful though and everything besides the mentioned issues was very good. Bryan and Mark were both interesting characters and very knowledgeable and friendly. The ride was scenic and fun, and we had the privilege of having a better experience with a small group of 6.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    31
    15
    18
    36
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Haleakela Sunrise”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We are just back from Hawaii, and this was the best experience on our 2 week vacation. This is an excellent tour. Our guide (Mark) was great, and kept the event fun for everyone. They tell you to dress warmly for the sunrise over the crater - and they mean it!!! It was very cold at the top of the mountain the day we went, but the views are fantastic. The bike ride down was spectacular... Well worth the money paid.

The brochure says to bring $10 for Breakfast - but that isn't enough - you need more like $15-$20 to buy a decent breakfast at the stop.

Would do this again in a heartbeat!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Cool activity, some flaws”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our trip was booked through a concierge. It was a nice activity but it could have been better. Heres the good stuff and the bad stuff:

The good:
-The guides, Mark and Brian, are nice and have a good knowledge of the islands;
-The sunrise is nice to see;
-The view during the bike ride is astonishing.

The bad:
-The "breakfast" before driving up the mountain consisted of granola bars;
-We were picked up at 3:00 AM at Lahaina and we arrived at the top at roughly 5:20 AM, but the sun only rises at 7:00 AM! Why wait more than 90 minutes at a freezing temperature when we could have been sleeping in our beds?
-Being in a group means you have to go as fast as the slowest rider, and in that case, that was pretty slow;
-The place we stopped for breakfast (Kula Sandalwoods Restaurant) was bad. The food wasn't good, the service was nonexistent and the mandatory 18% tip was included since we were a bicycle group. MMB should definitely find another place to stop for breakfast;
-We arrived at our hotel at 2:00 PM when we were supposed to arrived at 12:30 PM, due mainly to the frequent stops on the way down;
-We were suggested a tip during the ride, and looking back at the other activities we had the following days, we over-tipped this one.

All in all, we still had fun, but I think I would have preferred if we would have been let loose at the top with a map instead of sticking in the group. It would have been cheaper, better, faster, we could have stopped where we wanted and we wouldn't have stopped at the aforementioned restaurant (or at least we would have received a good service).

However, if you want to have a nice little ride, not too fast, with fancy pictures, this could be for you. Mark and Brian are nice and you'll enjoy your day, however I might not be for everybody.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martz560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiMountainCruisers, Manager at Maui Mountain Cruisers, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for pointing out the "good"! For pointing out the "bad" I would like to explain: We are a bike touring company that's been around since 1983 and voted Maui Concierge favorite! For our early morning breakfast snacks we only serve healthy Granola bars and fruit and nut bars, coffee and bottled water to our guest for sanitary reasons. We are not a restaurant type tour.
The reason we get you into the National Park early is because the park has limited parking and with our special commercial permit we need to be at the park entrance gate no later than 4:30 otherwise we get turned away. It has happened to us before and the guest were not happy. Also, It gives you time to see the predawn colors before the sunrise on top of Haleakala which is one of the world's greatest treasures! And finally there are only two restaurants in Kula. We do not have any control of their establishments. There is another one there but it's mobile. We get great compliments on the Kula Sandalwood!
The guided bike tours are for sightseeing the beautiful upcountry hillside and quaint towns then roll to the beach. We do not speed on these tours because we do not want anyone to get hurt on their beautiful Maui vacation.
Thank you and Aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Haleakala bike ride”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was a great trip, but like all things, you can find problems if you want to. The good points - Jay and Mark were excellent. The sunrise was just something else - I cannot describe it. The ride was easy and very beautiful. Possibly improvement areas - Mark does lay on the safety a bit thick, but they are trying to get 14 or so riders safely down fairly dangerous roads, so you can understand why it is important for them. The breakfast, whilst very tasty, took a long time to be served and was over priced. It is not included in the price for the trip. It was a shame that we did not get to stop and browse a little at Makawao and Paia - these would have been far more interesting than Paia beach. I have probably touched more on the improvement areas than expected, but I cannot emphasis just how far the good points outweigh these possible improvements. when I return, I will definitely be going up again for another ride!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wakefields61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great way to see Maui!!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Just returned from a day with Maui Mountain Cruisers. We did the midday tour rather than the sunrise tour. Fabulous day for cyclists! Great way to view the Maui landscape. Day was well organised and well equipped. Even if your partner is not a cyclist the van trip itself was fun. Our tour guides Dan and Brian were well experienced, informative and fun! Thoroughly recommend this trip. But make sure you confirm with their office your pick up time the day before to avoid a mixup in pick up times and disappointment.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank thevelj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Mountain Cruisers also viewed

 

Been to Maui Mountain Cruisers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing