We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it's an occasion for a photo op with a lovely shaded beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama's Fish House

Mama's Fish House
Reserve with OpenTable
Mama's Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“it's an occasion for a photo op with a lovely shaded beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

The ambience is Hawaii-chic. The drinks are pretty good. The views from the courtyard and the restaurant are both extraordinary. However, the food is very expensive and I would eat before going there as this is a nice place for an occasion but too pricey for a real meal

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike_J1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,080 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,938
    1,287
    561
    168
    126
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mama Can Cook!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

We went to Mama's on our honeymoon in 1989 and went back again this year for our 25th anniversary. It was well worth the wait! The food is outrageously fresh, flavorful and unique. Many restaurants can and do serve fresh caught island fish, but Mama's preparation is one of a kind. The restaurant's location is spectacular, so get there early to take a few beautiful photos. Mama's is truly "no ka oi".

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummy...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Beautiful location, tasty food, unfortunately the service was not that great. They had probably forgot about our orders so we ended up waiting some 45 minutes between the end of our appetizers and our entrees... But the place was truly beautiful and is worth being checked out.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AidaetMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good food but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

This is a great restaurant in the front of a beautiful beach. Food was awesome but expect it to be expensive.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
142 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

This restaurant is known for people to make proposals and get engaged!! The atmosphere is absolutely lovely and the service is great. They have their own private beach area although you can't swim ther,emits a bit rocky. THey feature a new menu every day based on the catch of the day by their unique fisherman. The menu even says the name of the fishermen who caught your fish! Everything was tasty and the drinks were also delicious. We tried a Hawaiian plate, I loved the octopus and beef served in a papaya with lime.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ClairVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing