We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama's Fish House

Mama's Fish House
Reserve with OpenTable
Mama's Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat
New York, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

This is the place to go for one of the most fabulous dining views of all time. It's an experience not to miss while on the island. The food was good but plays second fiddle to the view. The money spent to over look such an amazing setting is more of the investment then the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank glamcatster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,080 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,938
    1,287
    561
    168
    126
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overyhyped Overpriced Overrated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Food was ok at best. We had much better food for a fraction of the price all over the island. There is no lunch menu so even if you go at the lunch you will still pay their ridiculous dinner prices. I would recommend trying any of the other local fish markets or restaurants on the island for better food and a better experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jared K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mama's Fish House - a winner on several levels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We have been to Maui several times over the yrs and went back last yr to this wonderful island. This time we were able to enjoy Mama's Fish House - on many levels. First is the location. Stunning water views are there, even just walking from the parking lot into the restaurant! The facility itself is very island and reminds you are in a tropical paradise. The food is spectacular - I am very much into presentation - so the plating was awesome. The food and variety of specialty drinks will appeal to most everyone, I think.
Traveling through the little town of Paia is like a trip into the past too. We went to Paia and the restaurant in the afternoon and had lunch. There was only a few table open and we were glad that there one available. Of course waiting to be seated in such a wonder ocean view location would not have been too difficult. We had a fabulous time. Make this one - not to miss!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Pricey, but Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by many people on our vacation to Maui. It definitely didn't disappoint. We each had a separate dish but the Mahi Mahi was the best. All fish is caught daily and a new menu is made every day. The dessert is to die for. Beware though it is very expensive. Will cost you at least $50.00 per plate with no salad, appetizer or soup.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mylu0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Celebrated my 50th at Mama's and wow! The location and views are amazing!
There were 8 us, we had reservations and we were promptly seated. We could see the ocean from our table. Everybody tried a different cocktail, which are poured table side. Wine list is quite pricey.
$75 and higher!
We tried 4 or 5 different apps and all were yummy.
Everybody enjoyed their entrees- I think all ordered fish.
On the table was scarf dying happy birthday in Hawaiian. I also was presented with an ice team dish with a candle for dessert. One guest had the black pearl- pretty and tasty.
The service was perfect. No complaints! The price averaged $130 per person with apps and alcohol.

Helpful?
Thank Howcute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing