We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service!”
Review of Mama's Fish House

Mama's Fish House
Reserve with OpenTable
Mama's Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Several friends recommended this restaurant to us, so we made a reservation (online!) and went. A few days later we went again. It's that good. The food was delicious - the wasabi calamari and opakepake with garlic/capers were absolutely unreal. The signature dish (the crab/lobster stuffed mahimahi) is good, but I don't think it's the best thing on the menu. The cocktails are a bit pricey but are very tasty (the coconut/mint/gin one is wonderful). The service was also excellent - Mama's is probably one of the best restaurants that I've been to in terms of service. The staff are friendly and efficient and there's none of the awkwardness or pretentiousness that sometimes accompanies higher-end restaurants. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank evfrgsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,464
    1,351
    599
    176
    130
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't miss this culinary treat.”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This restaurant has everything going for it. Atmosphere, view, service, food quality.... I just can't say enough about this place.
From the moment you arrive, the atmosphere envelopes you. From the lush grounds to the well decorated interiors to the beautiful view. You are in for a treat. Our meal was excellent and our server was full of knowledge and suggestions. The fish is very fresh and local. The preparations of food was amazing. From beginning to end, eating here was by far the best.
A must is the calamari appetizer. Unlike any calamari I've had, this dish has spoiled me from eating calamari anywhere else.
Also a must is the Opakapaka if available. Delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mama's is Devine”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Booked a reservation with them for a mid-week dinner for three as my son (12) wanted to dine at Mama's. Got there a few minutes early and took in the sites along the beach as night descended upon us. Beautiful views...we had not been here in 12 years and they have really built out the restaurant.

The service could not be better. I've dined at many fine dining restaurants and this is definitely in my top three. Could not be improved upon....well done.

The food was excellent. We had various fishes, all prepared and presented very well. Great taste, the right amount of quantity too.

If there is anything to "complain" about, it is the pricing. Our party of three was $250, not something you want to do on a monthly basis but definitely worth the special occasion!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gorden G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magnificent setting and excellent food”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

A beautiful setting by the sea, watch the sun go down while dining in a well appointed restaurant. The menu has a wide variety of dishes and though a little expensive it is well worth the treat. We will no doubt return on our next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado, Arkansas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“View!!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Couldn't believe the view at Mama's The food was great and the appetizers were outstanding. Best view I have seen on the island.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing