We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mama's Fish House

Mama's Fish House
Reserve with OpenTable
Mama's Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Often when you go to an expensive restaurant, you come away feeling just that.... it was expensive. That is NOT the case with Mama's FIsh House!

Everything about the meal is memorable. The setting is sublime; the food is wonderful and all of the staff are top notch. Our waiter came over to our table and made a special point of showing us the best way to enjoy some wonderful foods we were not totally familiar with.

It is a little bit pricey, but it will definitely make any special occasion, really special. It definitely will be one of the highlights of any Maui vacation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JJFHMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,090
    1,306
    572
    170
    127
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive, but lovely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Really surprised how expensive it was; and full of tourists. But great food and lovely setting. We were expecting something a little more casual. LIked the food. Disliked that it was so touristy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Winder17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch at Mama's Fish House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Excellent food, unbelievable views, old time Hawaii feel and décor. Everything we ordered was fantastic! Loved everything about it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best fish dinner I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This was worth the money we spent here. Lets be clear, you can easily spend $150-$200 on just 2 people. We did drinks, appetizer, entrees, and split the black pearl for dessert. But of all the places we went in Maui, this was truly fantastic.
First, book way in advance. Get on OpenTable and make an online reservation. We had no issues with this system, and it worked fine for us. I made our reservation about a month in advance.
The atmosphere and ambiance at the restaurant is incredible. It's on their own private well groomed section of the beach, and it's gorgeous at sunset. Check sunset times so you can book accordingly.
The staff and waiters were all super professional. Dress was Hawaiian casual plus. Bring a nicer pair of shorts and maybe a collar shirt short sleeve for men.
The food was all incredible in every way. Very fresh fish which posts the type of fish, where it was caught within the last 24 hours or so, and who caught it. They are dedicated to great fish.
Our fish entrees were superb, expertly prepared. The fish was so tender and not dry at all.
The dessert we chose was the black pearl, because of all the pictures we've seen. It was as amazing as it looks. A large ball of chocolate moose, with a light cream core, in an edible shell. You've got to try this place. Go cheaper on your other meals so you can budget for this amazing dinner. It's totally worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank graygraystone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great bday celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The rain didn't stop us form having the best meal on the trip. Of course I got the steak and tail which was truly the best lobster tail I've ever had. The Filet was amazing as I enjoyed that for two days with eggs in the morning. We also got the Mahi special with lump crab n lobster stuffing which was also yummy. The raw sampling was delish and the Mai Tai's were flowing like they were going out of style. The service, staff and guests all enjoy this place as it is a very happy place to eat. How can you not enjoy your food here as it's so fresh. All I kept hearing was how good everything was when walking around. Every time I'm in Maui this is the first stop when off the plane from NJ. The deserts all looked great but could not fit another bite in our bellies...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ski2sun70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing