We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama's Fish House

Mama's Fish House
Reserve with OpenTable
Mama's Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expensive but great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stopped by at 11am when they opened and was seated without a reservation by thewindow. They don't have a lunch menu so you would be ordering off the dinner menu, which can be a steep bill. Given the choice, come at dinner time instead. Part of their menu is updated daily depending on what their fishingmen catch that morning

The ambience was great...right on the beach with swaying palm trees and waves crashing against the rocks. We had their signature dish, the, mahi mahi stuffed with crab and covered with a crispy macadamian nut, it was amazing but was $49. If we haven't gone to a grocery store before going to mama's we wouldve thought the prices were insane. They also gave us and all the tables a complimentary mini mango soup appetizer and a mini coconut dessert.

All things considered (quality of food, view and service) its worth it. A must go for a special occasion.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Planethappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,086 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,944
    1,287
    561
    168
    126
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Maui Must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We visited Mama's on our honeymoon because everyone we spoke to who had been to Maui said it was "THE" place to eat. It was a pretty long ride from Lahaina, but a beautiful drive and well worth it. The location of Mama's is so breath taking you'll have a difficult time convincing yourself to go inside, but force yourself. The food was UNBELIEVABLE--where else can you get a menu with the name of the fisherman & location where he caught the "catch of the day" that morning? Sure, Mama's was expensive for newlyweds, but we would pay the $$$ again in a heartbeat to be back at Mama's! After 15 years of marriage--still THE BEST MEAL we have experienced--no doubt about it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank djcj699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place really lived up to the hype, for sure! We visited on our next-to-last night here (out of 7-night stay) and it was the highlight dinner of our vacation. My wife and I dined here with our 11-year old son.

We scored a good dinner reservation time on Friday night thanks to a cancellation. Our wait was short after arriving on time.

Our Ahi sashimi app was incredible ($26), it had the buttery consistency like to tuna I'd ever had before (more like the best salmon I've had). My son had the tenderloin steak (adult menu, $58) and finished the whole thing, I had the stuffed fish ($52) and my wife had the Uku ($48).

Every fish item on the menu noted the name of the person who caught it (the same day) and exactly where they caught it.

Service was attentive, view of the sunset amazing, and the food spectacular. Atlantic Seafood in Boston is probably the only place I can think of that comes close in comparison to how great this was!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“BEST MEAL EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

From the bread and butter to the dessert, everything we put in our mouths at Mama's Fish House was amazing! Make the drive to the super cute town of Paia and check out Mama's private beach before entering the quaint dining rooms. We made an early dinner reservation and made this our last meal before heading to the airport to return home. What a way to go out! We were full all the way back to NY. You MUST have the crab and lobster stuffed Mahi Mahi, and you basically can't go wrong on the appetizers. We know good food coming from NY - but this was in a class all of its own.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hayley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altus
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pricey, but worth it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stopped by for lunch on a Saturday and were pleasantly surprised we didn't have to wait for a table. Valet parking only! The view is second to none and every member of their staff is nice as can be. Our server was Tinani, who is a fantastic asset to Mama's. She warmly welcomed us and was very knowledgeable about the menu. We ordered shrimp wontons (YUM!) for our appetizer. Four large shrimp coated with a wonton consistency wrapper, served with a fantastic dipping sauce. My wife ordered the Mahi Mahi, which we were told has been on the menu and served the same way for 40 years. She enjoyed every bite. I ordered the beef short ribs "pulehu" and they left me speechless. I have enjoyed meat and potatoes ever since I've had teeth...and this is one of the top three dishes I've ever tasted. Fork tender short rib with a savory/sweet sauce over fresh green beans and sweet potato. SO so so good. Creme brulee was a perfect end to our lunch. The views, the staff, and especially the food make it very understandable why reservations are recommended! Thank you, Tinani and Pono!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing