We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great!”
Review of Mama's Fish House

Mama's Fish House
Reserve with OpenTable
Mama's Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat
Seymour
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always Great!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Yes it is expensive, but you get what you pay for. Every bite of food is awesome. The surroundings give you a true Hawaiian experience. A must-do when visiting Maui.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iowaref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,464
    1,351
    599
    176
    130
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The decor, location and premises are beautiful and wonderful for pictures. The food is good but definitely not worth the price. Also the service wasn't out of this world or in line with the expense. If you have money to burn and don't mind getting ripped off go there but if you care about getting a good deal you'll be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vacationlover0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ambiance and food can't be beat”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We went to Mama's Fish House due to all the great reviews on TripAdvisor. And, I just had to add mine as well. There have been a couple of negative reviews and I think they must have gotten mixed up on their restaurants. This place is fabulous. First of all it's on the ocean with the most amazing sunsets I've ever seen. And, it was my husbands birthday and when I made my reservation I requested a good table for our special occasion and they accommodated my request beautifully and then comped his dessert and even put a candle in it. The food was so delicious. We had the crab cakes to start and then we both had the MahiMahi stuffed with crab and lobster. It was so fresh and the sauce was so good it was difficult not to embarrass my husband by licking the plate. And then for dessert I had the black pearl (not to be missed). The service was also excellent and it was so great that we went back the night we were flying back to the mainland on a "red eye" and had drinks and two pupus at the bar. We just had to go one more time. It's expensive but worth every penny. If you only do one splurge on Maui make it Mama's and you won't be sorry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachdreamin620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Real Treat!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We made Reservations 2 weeks in advance in order to get the time of evening we wanted and table with the best view. It had been 13 years since we had been to Mama's Fish House. It was just as divine as we remembered it be. I recommend arriving early so you can take photos amongst the palm trees on the sandy shore. It is a Hawaiian Sanctuary! The staff is very attentive. Our drinks were prepare at the table. The menu is fresh catch of the day. Beautifully prepared and delicious! This Restaurant will leave a wonderful dining experience memory. Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Was staying in Lahina, so had a bit of a drive to track this place down, but it was worth it. If you plan to do the "road to Hana" drive, this is a great place to stop and eat. Food was excellent, nice gourmet touch on everything. The inside of the restaurant is very tastefully decorated in a mariner's motif. It sits right on the beach so nice view of palm trees and water as you eat. Yes, it was grossly overpriced, but if money is no concern, go have a great meal. ...And be sure to check out the sidewalk; is made of interlocking concrete geckos.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing