We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mama's in Maui. . .Doesn't Get Any Better Than This”
Review of Mama's Fish House

Mama's Fish House
Reserve with OpenTable
Mama's Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Mama's in Maui. . .Doesn't Get Any Better Than This”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

On a friend's recommendation my husband and I stopped at Mama's Fish House for lunch while recently vacationing on Maui. Knowing how popular it is we took a chance going without a reservation, but fortunately we were seated as soon as we arrived. The setting, smack on a stretch of beach with swaying palms and aqua waters, is quintessentially Hawaiian. The interior of the space is purely Hawaiian as well--bamboo and rattan furniture, blue batik table linens, and walls of pictures of famous people who have all dined at Mama's.
Since it was lunchtime and we wanted to sample much of what Mama's had to offer, we ordered an array of appetizers rather than main entrées. Definitely the way to go.
We started with two cold appetizers-- Lobster Guacamole and Sashimi Goat Cheese Salad. Served in a martini glass with three different kinds of thinly sliced homemade chips, the lobster (from Maine) was succulent and the guacamole had a nice little kick. The sashimi salad turned out to be a great choice and ideal for sharing.
The hot "starters" came out next--Shrimp Wontons and Crispy Ahi Rolls. The shrimp wontons were large prawns, resembling fried shrimp more than they were any kind of wontons. That was probably our least favorite dish. But the ahi rolls with mango dipping sauce more than made up for it. They were terrific!
For dessert we opted for the coconut lime sorbet. While the favors were nice the sorbet lacked creaminess. The biscotti served with it, however, was scrumptious.
It's definitely pricey but because it was so good in every way, the $120 price tag (including tip) goes down easy. Mama's is an institution on Maui and rightly so. The owners, a couple originally from California, bought the property for a song in the '70s after sailing the Pacific in their own sailboat. Their dream of opening a restaurant (they also own a small inn on the property) came true when they bought the property and existing place. It was one of the most memorable dining experiences we've ever had--we live in NYC so that's saying a lot. In a coconut shell, my advice is to walk, run, sail or swim on over to Mama's!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChinadollRVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,450
    1,350
    597
    176
    130
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“13 years later.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

When we made plans to return to Maui (after a long absence) for a special anniversary, I immediately thought of going to Mama's for dinner. the food and atmosphere was as good as I remembered. Food well prepared (but rather pricey). Staff very knowledgeable and friendly. We were rather perplexed when diners around us received sorbet to cleanse their palates between courses but we did not. No big deal but wondered if some waiters were more attentive than others. Overall would recommend Mama's for a special occasion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamjambc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Local seafood-fresh that morning”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Don't miss this icon of a local seafood restaurant! The menu actually lists the name of the fisherman who caught the fish and where it is from. The entrees are a little pricey but knowing the money is helping the local fisherman takes the sting out of the price. BEST seafood curry. Incredible sashimi. Can't say enough good things about Mama's Fish House. Make sure you put it on your list. Beautiful location too!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kertehQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“More than a restaurant - a real experience!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Yes, this place is pricey. Most people couldn't go there on a regular basis - but for a special occasion or a special night out - it's worth it! Right on the beach - open to the warm air and sounds of the surf - the location is in itself amazing! The restaurant has a very funky, yet up-scale feel with lots of cool artifacts and art. The ceiling is all sort of 'sail-cloth' and feels very open.
And then there's the food. Oh My! The food! Of course being called 'Fish House' you know there's gonna be fish. But each item not only tells you the type of fish and where caught - but the name of the person who caught it! Cool! There is also a good selection of island beef and pork.
There were 4 of us in our party and we each got something different. One had the prawns (heavenly), one had the Island Ceviche (amazing with not only lime but coconut), the stuffed Mahi Mahi (stuffed with crab and I think lobster - the MOST amazing) and the (I think it was called) Hawaiian Feast which had wild boar, mahi-mahi, poke, octopus and a few other things (also amazing!). The service was very professional and friendly and our friends were even given a lei from the manager as it was their anniversary. Very special. Next time in Maui we are definitely going back - maybe for OUR anniversary this time!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herriman UT
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A MUST Eat on Maui!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

If they have it, you would be remiss to get anything other than the stuffed Mahi Mahi. The food presentation was almost as good as the food and that's saying something. The wait at Mama's is renowned and you would be wise to get a reservation (or two) in advance of your trip to the Valley Island. The service staff is knowledgable, friendly, fast and your glass never gets empty. We had a range of appetizers with our group of 8 and each one was a culinary piece of art in both presentation and flavor. This is easily a top 5 meal of my life and a place I will crave.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnKnotwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing