We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama's Fish House

Mama's Fish House
Reserve with OpenTable
Mama's Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat
Sydney
Level Contributor
239 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had been recommended to go to Mama's by both friends and the staff at the Four Seasons where we were staying. To do this we hired a mustang convertible and headed north for the day to see the big surf and finish the day at this fabulous restaurant.

We loved the atmosphere and location as well as the food of course. The staff were busy but friendly and helpful with suggestions and assistance navigating through the fish menu. Our teenage daughter doesn't eat fish and this was no problem.

Of all the restaurants we ate in whilst in Maui Mama's stands out as a unique experience and our best meal during our ten day visit. You definitely need to book.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank toddtrippas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,086 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,944
    1,287
    561
    168
    126
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Try Mama's - you'll love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place is one of the highlights of our trip. The beach and the grounds are magically beautiful, as is the restaurant. We had wonderful servers and the food was extremely good. Yes, it's pricey but the big ticket items are the cocktails at an average of $17 each, and a french press of coffee is $14. We had a very nice bottle of wine for a reasonable $60 and our appetizers and entries, for the quality, were fairly priced. Look around Mama's at the exquisite woodwork and details and you'll see it was put together with love and attention to detail. On the other hand, if you don't appreciate this kind of place, location and great food, there are other places in Paia to eat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jnez1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went to Mamas for our last meal before going home, the food &service were impeccable, Brandi the host was particularly friendly & extremely accommodating in getting us a choice table, we had both the mahimahi roll & wasabi calamari for apps, both were exceedingly mouth watering, entrees were scrummy , location & ambiance couldn't be better, make sure you make a res. as it was very busy. A brilliant dining experience even if we were seated next to a boorish over-demanding "attorney" for the food network!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Get the appetizers and go for lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife & I have eaten here meny times both day & night. Mama's is best done at lunch so you can see the waves and get the best ambiance. My wife & I really enjoyed getting the appetizers rather then a full meal. We had 4 appitizers and the cost would have been the same as if we ordered 2 entrees but we were able to skip the rice/potato/starch fillers and got to enjoy the main proteins.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL USA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot to enjoy good food and great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We enjoy lunch at Mama's more than dinner. The food and service has always been exemplary at both times. While the ambience is good at night , lunch has both the ambiance and a great views around the whole facility. Lunch is also slightly less expensive. We recommend the calamari appetizer, mahi mahi with lobster and crab stuffing(their signature dish), their bouillabaisse is our favorite if you like the dish (not always available). Definitely recommend this restaurant. You need to book early, we often reserve a couple of weeks before our arrival in Maui.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim_F_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing