We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived up to its reputation”
Review of Mama's Fish House

Mama's Fish House
Reserve with OpenTable
Mama's Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lived up to its reputation”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

It can be a little hard to get into the parking lot, but it is a fabulous experience from then on. The restaurant opens onto its own beautiful private beach. It is charming, with efficient, personal service. The food was excellent, from salads to show-stopping dessert. Unlike some cookie-cutter up-scale restaurants on the islands, it's completely unique. The names of the fishermen who caught the various fish available are listed on the menu! I had read that both Mama's and Sonz at Swans were considered "most romantic" and "must visit" on Maui. We went to both, and while we enjoyed Sonz, Mama's took the titles!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leann_R_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,246
    1,324
    578
    173
    130
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Mama's Fish House was excellent. My daughter has a lot of food allergies and they were very accommodating. They made sure all dishes that she ate had none of the items that she is allergic to.

I'm not a big fish person so I had the beef short ribs and it was awesome. The meat just fell apart..was very tender. My wife had the bouilliabase which was excellent and mother in law had the fish (can't remember which type) but it was excellent. The restaurant is pricey but worth it .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marker70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unbelieveable meal...would go back in a heartbeat”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Amazing food, great location, terrific service...Mama's can't be beat. Best seafood dinner we've had. We ordered the specials which were outstanding and the desserts are killer. It's a pricey meal, but so worth it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmichnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Could it be better? I don't think so...”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This is one of the best restaurants I've ever been to. My friends and i ate there every day, lunch and dinner, for 4 days. Every single meal was a treat, perfectly cooked, perfect service, perfect setting (the view is spectacular), I could go on and on...

The fish is amazingly fresh, but everything on the menu is every bit as good. It's pricey, but well worth it.

Enjoy, enjoy...

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“2nd time's charm”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

1st time we tried Mama's was 1990, didn't see what all the hype about this place was, we were disappointed. Decided to try it again, 21 years later , this time for lunch, glad we did. The food & service were great! This restaurant has so much ambiance I couldn't stop taking pictures, inside & out. It is a bit pricey though. We had the crab cakes with macadamia nuts appetizer, I had a seared ahi tuna sandwich w/purple Molokai fries & my husband had the sashimi Ahi tuna salad w/wasabi goat cheese, both delicious. No cocktails, just ice tea the tab was $100, so if you go for dinner w/cocktails expect to spend well over that. It was worth it though & worth the drive. You will need a reservation & they have valet parking. We'll go back but sooner than another 21 years. The dress is casual for lunch & dinner although you would not feel uncomfortable a little dressier for dinner.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank auntiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing