We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST fresh fish fry EVER”
Review of Paia Fish Market

Paia Fish Market
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“BEST fresh fish fry EVER”
Reviewed February 11, 2011

we stopped here for lunch after a tour was cancelled. we were by the airport so Paia was not far at all.
both of us got the fish and chips, probably the best fried fish i've ever had. the people there were super friendly. not a lot of seating but the tables are long so you can ask someone to skootch over.

proves my husband's theory that you find the best places on vacation by just stumbling onto them rather than making a res somewhere well known.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wallybat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,174
    585
    127
    33
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice stop on the way back from Hana”
Reviewed February 9, 2011

This is a great place to stop in on the way back from Hana. It's a lot of food for the money. It's a nice casual atmosphere with picnic style seating. Great plate of food.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brungart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Crowed but worth the wait”
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Tables opened up fairly quickly, so don't shy away if there's a line. The Ono fish sandwich is the best I've had. The bread and sauce were great compliments.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tucson_AZCyclegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish tacos.”
Reviewed January 17, 2011

I'm not a big seafood person but had to try out Paia Fish Market based on the reviews. I ordered Fish Tacos, which I've never had before. And I gotta say, this was one of the best dishes I had during my entire Hawaii vacation. Such great flavor and so tasty. However, the side of rice that comes with it is very bland. I would skip the sides and get an extra taco.

The place gets very crowded so the best plan is to look for someone finishing up their meal while you are waiting in line.

For vegetarians, they do have a black bean quesadilla.

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MGoBlue99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“A nice place to eat when in Paia”
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Recommended to check out this place but when we went on a Friday night, woah was it packed! Ok round 2 we tried Saturday night and just 1 hour before they were closing and not much people were there so we managed to get a seat.

Ordered our meals and boy was it a lot, check out the pictures. I think 1 main meal and an entrée would be suffice. We had to get the leftovers and we ate some the next day although this isn’t preferred because its not as fresh when its just been cooked and ready for you to eat.

Price was ok and wasn’t as expensive as I thought so its nice a place like this exists in Paia.

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydney_Aussie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paia Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to Paia Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing